ONT ethernet to 3rd party router, ONT coax to Tivo Bolt??

Reply
Highlighted
Silver Contributor IV Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 256
Registered: ‎06-30-2012

Re: ONT ethernet to 3rd party router, ONT coax to Tivo Bolt??

Message 11 of 19
(2,012 Views)

When I was looking up the data sheets for the equipment I have, I found out that the ONT I have, the Tellabs 1600-611, doesn't support MoCA. The next model, the 1600-612, did support MoCA, though it doesn't say which version, so I suspect it's 1.0. So, at the time they installed FiOS TV here, the only choice was to use something like a NIM-100 and feed it an Ethernet cable. In my case, since they installed one ONT (1600-610) for my business Internet connection and another ONT (1600-611) just for FiOS TV, they actually ran a second Ethernet to it and restricted it to just traffic for the NIM-100. I'm not using the 610 any more.

 

If my ONT, the NIM-100 or the one remaining Verizon STB ever die, which is a real possibility given their ages, I suspect some rearchitecting will be needed. Also, the ONT I have maxes out at 100 Mbps service on the Ethernet connection. Not a problem for me currently, but maybe in the future.

[Be nice! We are mostly fellow Verizon customers.
My setup: 75/75 Mbps; Linux router (2x 1Gbps ports) + iptables; Netgear Orbi x 2
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,898
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: ONT ethernet to 3rd party router, ONT coax to Tivo Bolt??

Message 12 of 19
(2,010 Views)

Do you have quantum? If not, I would be surprised if that setup would support it as VMS is moca 2.0


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Silver Contributor IV Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 256
Registered: ‎06-30-2012

Re: ONT ethernet to 3rd party router, ONT coax to Tivo Bolt??

Message 13 of 19
(2,007 Views)

@CRobGauth wrote:

Do you have quantum? If not, I would be surprised if that setup would support it as VMS is moca 2.0


What is this "Quantum" of which you speak? Quantum Leap? Loved that show. The game Quantum Break? Haven't bought it yet. Smiley Wink

 

Naw. My equipment is so old, the CC text looks like this. (Closest thing to Old English available.)

 

If I decide on any number of upgrades, I'm likely looking at replacing something in the loop. My current router is a Linux box. It's maybe the fourth or fifth iteration I've had. Started with a Pentium 200, but now it's a dual core Intel 6300, 4 GB RAM, a couple disks in RAID 1 etc. Works well for me, but I wouldn't necessarily recommend it for everyone.

[Be nice! We are mostly fellow Verizon customers.
My setup: 75/75 Mbps; Linux router (2x 1Gbps ports) + iptables; Netgear Orbi x 2
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-31-2016

Re: ONT ethernet to 3rd party router, ONT coax to Tivo Bolt??

Message 14 of 19
(1,986 Views)

I'm trying to get away from using any verizon hardware (other than the ONT of course), and not have to use MOCA either. 

 

So for internet I'd have my own router connected to the ONT via ethernet. 

 

For TV having coax connect to TIVO for tv signal. 


Wifi giving TIVO internet connectivity for guide download. 


Does this makes sense??

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,000
Registered: ‎05-27-2010

Re: ONT ethernet to 3rd party router, ONT coax to Tivo Bolt??

Message 15 of 19
(1,977 Views)

Sure ... there should be no problem with that.   Have Verizon provision you for Ethernet handoff for Internet -- easy enough, you can use your own router for the gateway then (this is exactly what I do).   Second, I would install a LoPass filter where the coax exits the ONT to filter off and block egress of any MoCA signals.  Lastly, configure  your Bolt for internet over WiFi (although I'd recommend using Ethernet if possible since if you want to utilize streaming services -- either to watch recordings from outside the home or to access any of the streaming services like Netflix from the TiVO, you'll get a better performance from Ethernet).

 

Note that if you have or plan to use any TiVO remote boxes for other TV's, then you will need to either cable via Ethernet (both boxes) or connect the TiVO remote to the Coax cable plant (TiVO will not do device to device IP streaming that the remote units utilize over WiFi).

Highlighted
Silver Contributor I
Silver Contributor I
Posts: 395
Registered: ‎11-09-2013

Re: ONT ethernet to 3rd party router, ONT coax to Tivo Bolt??

Message 16 of 19
(1,972 Views)
Moca 1.1 (I believe) is from ont (if capable) to router. It is also between router and older cable boxes. Moca 2 is only between router and quantum tv boxes.
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: ONT ethernet to 3rd party router, ONT coax to Tivo Bolt??

Message 17 of 19
(1,969 Views)

@hlppls wrote:
Moca 1.1 (I believe) is from ont (if capable) to router. It is also between router and older cable boxes. Moca 2 is only between router and quantum tv boxes.

I don't know if they have any ONT's yet that do MOCA 2.0.  And interestingly only the Quantum Gateway router does Moca 2.0 to the STB.  The VMS ends up talking directly to the IP (and 2nd VMS) boxes using Moca 2.0 but all of them use 1.1 to the rev I router.

Highlighted
Silver Contributor I
Silver Contributor I
Posts: 395
Registered: ‎11-09-2013

Re: ONT ethernet to 3rd party router, ONT coax to Tivo Bolt??

Message 18 of 19
(1,957 Views)
Rev I does moca 2 as well to vms
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: ONT ethernet to 3rd party router, ONT coax to Tivo Bolt??

Message 19 of 19
(1,924 Views)

@hlppls wrote:
Rev I does moca 2 as well to vms

No.  The rev I only supports moca 1.1.  It has no support for moca 2.0 .

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.