×

Switch Account

OTA, FIOS and COAX

SOLVED
Reply
Contributor Mike0129
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-21-2013
Message 1 of 6
(2,295 Views)

I’m moving to FIOS but not all my TV receivers (actually they are PCs) will be attached to desktop units.  Right now, I have Directv and through all sorts of jury-rigged switches, my house coax carries both the satellite and OTA signals.  OTA reception comes from my rooftop antenna. 

 

Can FIOS support a mix of Verizon provided signals and OTA over the same coax?  If it can’t, this maybe a deal-breaker. 

 

Thanks

 

Mike

5 REPLIES 5
Gold Contributor V Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,363
Registered: ‎12-02-2012
Message 2 of 6
(2,275 Views)

No.

 

You'll find this with any terrestrial cable provider.  While satellite receiving antennas use an LNB/LNA to feed the coax with intermediate frequencies above 1GHz, cable providers use sub GHz frequencies.  This is the same range used by OTA. (modulation is different, but that's another story).

 

Further, FiOS uses a few channels above 1Ghz for the MoCA link.

 

Good Luck

 

 

-----
If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Contributor Mike0129
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-21-2013
Message 3 of 6
(2,251 Views)

Thanks for the advice and the good luck wishes. SInce I'm still new to FIOS I might actually have a way to make this work. 

 

But first a naive question. 

 

For Directv, it takes two cables per box to record or watch two programs. And I have two cables at each needed outlet.

 

For a FIOS DVR or desk top box, it appears that only one coax input in necessary to record or watch two programs or some combination at the same time.  One cable per box solves my problem since my home has structured wiring and can send OTA over the spare COAX.

 

One cable per FIOS box?

Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 371
Registered: ‎10-23-2008
Message 4 of 6
(2,246 Views)

Lucky guy. Wish I were set up the same. Yes, Verizon FiOS only uses one coaxial cable input. Now you'll just have to re-arrange how your cables are connected to run your OTA and "cable" separately.


Find this post helpful, informative or just something you agree with? Click the red ‘thumbs-up’ button.
Did this post solve your problem? Click the green ‘Accept as Solution’ button.

Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,070
Registered: ‎08-07-2008
Message 5 of 6
(2,208 Views)

@Mike0129 wrote:

Thanks for the advice and the good luck wishes. SInce I'm still new to FIOS I might actually have a way to make this work. 

 

But first a naive question. 

 

For Directv, it takes two cables per box to record or watch two programs. And I have two cables at each needed outlet.

 

For a FIOS DVR or desk top box, it appears that only one coax input in necessary to record or watch two programs or some combination at the same time.  One cable per box solves my problem since my home has structured wiring and can send OTA over the spare COAX.

 

One cable per FIOS box?


Yes, a single coax is used.  DirecTV use two to carry each polarity of the LNB.

Contributor Mike0129
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-21-2013
Message 6 of 6
(2,193 Views)

Well, that's one less problem. 

 

My home is 9 years old and I've been in IT for quite a while.  So when we built the house I put in structured wiring and have 10 drops throughout the house with phone, internet and two coax ports.  However, I still managed to mess some of it up with limited forward thinking. 

 

Since I wasn't bundled, the phone box is in the back of the house, the internet entry on the side and, since I currently have Directv, the dish and cabling is in the roof.  So,  the ONT will have to be outside and not in the room with the distribution frame.  Luckily I do have an outside three-prong plug but its only near the phone jacks.  So there will be lots of outside cables attached to the house. 

 

I think I'll stop whining now. 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.