Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you switch and bring your phone.

On Demand problem- can't "resume play" will only restart

SOLVED
Reply
diamondrop987
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-20-2012

Re: On Demand problem- can't "resume play" will only restart

Message 11 of 35
(4,379 Views)
No it hasn't
dobenjam
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-31-2011

Re: On Demand problem- can't "resume play" will only restart

Message 12 of 35
(4,239 Views)

This has been a major headache, and I noticed it increases in frequesncy with the additional wireless devices we have.  2 ipads, 2 iphones, xbox, samsung smart TV's, a few laptops, etc.  It could just be in my head but it seems that with the addition of each device this happens more and more often.  I also lose internet connectivity when this happens.  I pay alot for the upgraded packages for both television and internet.  Could the wireless router be the issue? 

 

I also live in a condo building and perhaps the bandwidth is lacking to support everyone?

ejohn
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-14-2012

Re: On Demand problem- can't "resume play" will only restart

Message 13 of 35
(3,694 Views)

I too am experiencing the same issues when vieweing from my pc.  I was watching a show and paused it.  Upon returning it did not allow me to play from the point which i paused the show and was forced to start from the beginning.   During the playback my silverlight plugin crashed forcing me to return to the show from my library.  Immediately i returned to my library and it again forced me to watch from the beginning.  This is not only annoying but is unacceptable and such lack of capabilities renders such a feature unusable.  

Iamkgg
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-16-2009

Re: On Demand problem- can't "resume play" will only restart

Message 14 of 35
(3,658 Views)

Just tried stop on demand movie and return to it immediately.  It still went back to the beginning.  So it is bigger than a five minute  pause problem.

Fabien
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-24-2012

Re: On Demand problem- can't "resume play" will only restart

Message 15 of 35
(3,602 Views)

Hi,

 

I am having the same issue. But what is annoying is that now a lot of the shows do not have the fast fowrard function anymore. Any chance someone can let me know why this is happening?

 

Thanks,

Fabien

pml
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-10-2012

Re: On Demand problem- can't "resume play" will only restart

Message 16 of 35
(3,383 Views)

This is a constant issue. No resume play & the glitches in play mode are irritating.  I have been watching some similar threads.  Does verizon actually staff these groups as the couple I have seen just go nowhere without any resolution.

daveinri
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-18-2012

Re: On Demand problem- can't "resume play" will only restart

Message 17 of 35
(3,222 Views)

Apparently Verizon views this as an undocumented feature that they choose to ignore. I am wondering if Cox or Comcast have the same problems. Will certainly do some shopping and quite likely dump FIOS.

bendanjesse
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-23-2012

Re: On Demand problem- can't "resume play" will only restart

Message 18 of 35
(3,159 Views)

I am SO incredibly frustrated with this problem which has been going on for quite some time now.  Very sporadic - sometimes the system resumes, sometimes ony restarts.  And then today - it totally disappeared form "my Library" as a show that I was watching.  And - as previously stated - when you can't fast forward to the last 5 minutes of a show it's a KILLER!  ANyone get results from Tech support?  I have not.

joecon
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-12-2008

Re: On Demand problem- can't "resume play" will only restart

Message 19 of 35
(2,851 Views)

Me too. If you search around you will see that this problem continues. A previous user complained about this in 2011, said user then said--in 2011--it is working. Verizon marked it as "Problem solved"" EVEN FOR FUTURE  COMPLAINTS!! It is ridiculous. I will seriously look into changing services when my current contract is up!

FiosVictim
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-25-2009

Re: On Demand problem- can't "resume play" will only restart

Message 20 of 35
(2,810 Views)

Yes, this is ALWAYS a problem - FIOS is one of those large companies that get 80% of the service, but fail significantly on the remaining 20%.  Thus, they get a C+ grade and just miss out on being qualified.  VoD is not really worth much if the DEMAND portion belongs more to the FIOS server than the viewer!  You MUST always watch the entire stream (2+ hours) at one sitting since you are not permitted to "demand" a resume, FF or rewind...

 

Sigh, tiz time to dump em.... alas!

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title