Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same day delivery.

On Demand won't "resume" play, only restarts

Reply
mckimber
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-05-2012

Re: On Demand won't "resume" play, only restarts

Message 41 of 87
(5,008 Views)

Add me to the list as well.  I used a stop watch to time how long "pause" is for VOD programs.  4 minutes and 30 seconds and then it timed out.  Issue 1:  Please extend pause time until at least 10 minutes.  4:30 is not enough time if people want to get a snack, go to bathroom, take a call or smoke a cigarette.  The purpose of pause is to allow us to do these things.  Instead I find myself making something to eat and rushing back to TV to quickly hit play then pause again so I dont lose my spot.  Absolutely ridiculous that I have to do that.

 

Issue 2:  I get different results trying to use the resume feature.  For (a) purchased pay per view/flex view VOD it ALWAYS restarts.  Thats not right.  I pay $5 for a movie, watch for an hour and a half then try to resume and have to start from the beginning and fast forward at 2x to get back to my point.  For (b) premium channel VOD and (c) free tv VOD I can resume from point I left off if its within 10 minutes.  Longer than 10 minutes and I have to fast forward for premium VOD or sit thru it if its free VOD.

 

WHERE IS THE FIX?!?!?!

 

 

jaclynpaige
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-19-2010

Re: On Demand won't "resume" play, only restarts

Message 42 of 87
(4,845 Views)

This has been for me about last 2 months I have noticed maybe a little longer on tv shows but the other day happened on a movie and just happened to me on the Bourne movie.  It is absolutely the most annoying thing among the many annoying things about Verizon, including crappy web site, lousy customer service,  cost, slow internet, I tell everyone I know when it comes to their neighborhood, don't bother you will hate it.

Bengy221
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-29-2012

Re: On Demand won't "resume" play, only restarts

Message 43 of 87
(4,602 Views)
Still a problem w Verizon. I currently have both Verizon and Comcast in my home and this is not a problem w Comcast...I am about to cancel fios all together. I stop for two minutes and can't resume...what is the point of watching shows that aren't live??
GaryDoug
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 402
Registered: ‎07-07-2010

Re: On Demand won't "resume" play, only restarts

Message 44 of 87
(4,584 Views)

As another poster has noted, the usual timout is 4 1/2 minutes, but I wondered if that was cululative or not, i.e. do you get that much pause time for an entire movie or just the one pause instance? My tests found that it is not cumulative. So if you unpause for a few seconds, the timeout timer starts over again. You can try this, if it is possible for you: At about the 3-minute pause time, unpause and play the movie for a few seconds, then pause again. You may even be able to do a rewind for a few seconds to get back the lost material. This will reset the pause timer to zero and you will get another 4 1/2 minutes of pause time. Naturally, this is not ideal, since you may be busy at the 3-minute time. But if, for example, your spouse is in the room and it is your time away from the room (bathroom break, drink retrieval, etc...), the person in the tv room can do the unpause for a few seconds. Having a 3 minute "egg timer" to use might help.

uwildkat
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-31-2012

Re: On Demand won't "resume" play, only restarts

Message 45 of 87
(4,537 Views)

It's been over 9 months and the promised fix has not appeared!!!   What's the point if nothing is going to be fixed?

 

Frustrated in florida

aldrich317
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-14-2011

Re: On Demand won't "resume" play, only restarts

Message 46 of 87
(4,526 Views)

I have had this issue since I had Verizon installed more than a year ago. When I called to complain shortly after installation, I was assured the problem was to be fixed in their 'next release'. It's been a year later and still no fix. This is an EXTREMELY annoying problem and am astounded they have neither kept customers informed of the issue and expected resolution, nor seem to address this with any sense of urgency. Comcast, my previous provider, has no such issue and I expect to return to them once my contract with Verizon is up. Of course, to add fuel to the problem, Verizon does not permit you to fast forward more than 2x regular speed.

 

Alan

aldrich317
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-14-2011

Re: On Demand won't "resume" play, only restarts

Message 47 of 87
(4,524 Views)

Anthony_VZ... you guys have been feeding this bull to customers for more than a year.

 

FIOS-Dan
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-24-2010

Re: On Demand won't "resume" play, only restarts

Message 48 of 87
(4,517 Views)

I sure hope next year will be a better year with regards to Verizon FIOS programming and functionality.   This year has been  a complete debacle!!  

 

Here's to a more functional/operational, less buggy FIOS in 2013!!

GaryDoug
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 402
Registered: ‎07-07-2010

Re: On Demand won't "resume" play, only restarts

Message 49 of 87
(4,514 Views)

@aldrich317 wrote:

I have had this issue since I had Verizon installed more than a year ago. When I called to complain shortly after installation, I was assured the problem was to be fixed in their 'next release'. It's been a year later and still no fix. This is an EXTREMELY annoying problem and am astounded they have neither kept customers informed of the issue and expected resolution, nor seem to address this with any sense of urgency. Comcast, my previous provider, has no such issue and I expect to return to them once my contract with Verizon is up. Of course, to add fuel to the problem, Verizon does not permit you to fast forward more than 2x regular speed.

 

Alan


Although the screen shows a fast forward rate of 2X, I think you will find that it is much faster than that. I have done the FF to a "one-hour-in" location in about 10 minutes. Still no fun.

drierp
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-22-2011

Re: On Demand won't "resume" play, only restarts

Message 50 of 87
(4,286 Views)

@mcardeiro wrote:

 

@prisaz wrote:


... I do not expect Verizon to keep track of where 4.5 million customers left off with their VOD viewings.

 



true, but they should allow you to enter a time and start the vod from that time.  I mean what a tremendous waste of bandwith to have me download and fast forward through 50 minutes of video if I want to continue to watch a vod where the resume was lost 


 

That's complete crap.. I FULLY expect them to remember..  If they can remember that I was watching sherlock holmes, then they certainly can remember a time code as to how far into that movie I was.  (I write software for a living)  what we're talking about here is 4 bytes of information (a Date field) at most.  per rental.  And given it only remembers what's been rented for a week or so, that information is completely within their abilities to remember.  I'd be seriously surprised if that additional field is a gigabyte in aggregate across every customer and all of their rentals.

 

More likely, whatever is meant to save where you are in the movie/show isn't working properly.  It obviously already knows you were watching it (as it prompts for resume instead of play) so this is most likely a bug in the software, not them not actually intending to save the time offset.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title