On Demand won't "resume" play, only restarts

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-09-2012

Re: On Demand won't "resume" play, only restarts

Message 71 of 87
(3,100 Views)

I've been having this same problem for ages. About a year ago it seemed to "fix itself", I'm assuming with a software update. A few months back I upgraded to Quantum TV and now the problem is back. When I hit Resume playback you will actually see a frame on the tv where I had left off and then it just restarts. I've looked to see if there were updates but I do not see any. The message boards seem like this is more than just a problem for a few people. Please fix! I'm open to any suggestions as I have a 1 year old and have to stop shows frequently now. At almost $200/mth I really do expect this stuff to work.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-30-2014

Re: On Demand won't "resume" play, only restarts

Message 72 of 87
(3,080 Views)
"Very soon"....it's now over 2 years later and the problem still exists. Your OD programming sucks!
Highlighted
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 402
Registered: ‎07-07-2010

Re: On Demand won't "resume" play, only restarts

Message 73 of 87
(3,076 Views)

I tried it last night several times and it works fine for me. I have no Quantum service and a QIP7232-2 DVR. Every time it timed out, I was able to resume where the movie left off. Once, I even waited 15 minutes after the time out message and resume still worked from the On Demand menu. This wasn't always the case here.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-01-2015

Re: On Demand won't "resume" play, only restarts

Message 74 of 87
(3,032 Views)

It worked until I upgraded to FIOS Quantum, now it doesn't work anymore. Movies start at the beginning when I click on Resume. It's very annoying to say the least, especially for the amount of money I pay Verizon every month. Please fix this soon.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-18-2015

Re: On Demand won't "resume" play, only restarts

Message 75 of 87
(2,912 Views)

Same problem here in mid-January 2015 trying to watch "Gone Girl." We just upgraded the STB's and the problem is STILL there. It's disappointing and sad that VZ won't even address this address when so many customers complain about what should be a simple fix. And that chat robot is, again, completey useless.

 

Hello, VZ. Anyone home?

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-09-2015

Re: On Demand won't "resume" play, only restarts

Message 76 of 87
(2,823 Views)

WHAT A JOKE. Its been years and still same complaints...worst part is... The FF IS SO SLOW... WHY IN THE WORLD WOULD THEY MAKE IT SO YOU CANT FAst foward MORE THAN 2x. I cant pause it for more than 2 minutes without it going back to tv. Theres just so many stupid issues that are so ez to fix... Yet NOTHING.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-18-2009

Re: On Demand won't "resume" play, only restarts

Message 77 of 87
(2,803 Views)

I wrote this initial post almost THREE YEARS ago. Not only do we still have the same issue, but so do many, many, many, many other people. I don't understand how so many COMPLAINTS about such a fundamental part of OnDemand (pausing and resuming), can still be ignored by Verizon!! When we used Comcast, we had tons of customer service issues but at least the OnDemand service worked properly.

 

We have a BUNCH of shows we cannot watch OnDemand unless we are sure we can sit through them in their entirety - otherwise, if we pause and try to resume, the shows not only start over, but most don't even have the ability to fast forward. This truly is ludicrous!

 

VERIZON - START LISTENING TO THE TOP COMPLAINTS OF YOUR CUSTOMERS. IT'S BEEN THREE YEARS SINCE I POSTED THIS AND IT IS STILL AN ISSUE. BAD BUSINESS ON YOUR PART.

 

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,910
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: On Demand won't "resume" play, only restarts

Message 78 of 87
(2,793 Views)

It has been stated before that they can not support an unlimited pause. The feed doesn't stop so they can only buffer so much.

Have never seen a comment about why the resume function starts at the beginning rather than the middle.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-21-2015

Re: On Demand won't "resume" play, only restarts

Message 79 of 87
(2,730 Views)
* The pause timeout is way too short.
* The inability to resume play is unacceptable, especially given the pause timeout length.
* And the inability to fast forward more than 2x is unacceptable given the inability to resume play.

Verizon FiOS OnDemand is completely weak. Will give my money to AppleTV instead.
Highlighted
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 402
Registered: ‎07-07-2010

Re: On Demand won't "resume" play, only restarts

Message 80 of 87
(2,724 Views)

I don't know why people keep saying this thing about 2x F/F speed. Have any of you even timed it????? I did and the speed is always 8x despite what the screen says. It is 8x no matter the number of presses also. Get it real folks!

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.