Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

Only getting 480p

Reply
sefurd
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-05-2014

Only getting 480p

Message 1 of 7
(3,332 Views)

Just connected a new TV to my STB and I'm only getting 480p.  I have quantum and TV is 1080p capable.  Is this a verizon issue or a TV issue?  Note that on this STB, I have a very long coax cable from the wall to the STB.

6 REPLIES 6
Keyboards
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,323
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Only getting 480p

Message 2 of 7
(3,296 Views)

First thing we need to know is how you are connected to the TV before anyone can give you suggestions as to what the issue is.

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Telcoguru
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,796
Registered: ‎08-06-2008

Re: Only getting 480p

Message 3 of 7
(3,266 Views)

Go to Menu => Settings => Audio & Video => Video Settings => Video Format and select what format you would like. Make sure that the STB is connected with HDMI or component cables to the TV. Only channels above 500 are HD channels. Check the TVs format settings as well.

coair73x
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎10-10-2014

Re: Only getting 480p

Message 4 of 7
(3,191 Views)

I am having the same problem. 2 Diff TVs  19inch.  Both are 720p. HDMI . After initial setup it was fine at 720p. After having it off for awhile when I turn it back on 480p!  This is on a 1100IPC

Keyboards
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,323
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Only getting 480p

Message 5 of 7
(3,175 Views)

@coair73x wrote:

I am having the same problem. 2 Diff TVs  19inch.  Both are 720p. HDMI . After initial setup it was fine at 720p. After having it off for awhile when I turn it back on 480p!  This is on a 1100IPC


Your problem sounds like ean HDMI handshake issue between the STB and TV.  Don't have any suggestions as to how to fix other than try changing the cable from the box to TV (probably won't help).

 

The other option would be to try Component video (the 3 wire video input [Y, Pb, R}.  It still delivers full HD but is analog instead of digital (supports up to 1080i).

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
NevillesMom
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-27-2019

Re: Only getting 480p

Message 6 of 7
(1,718 Views)

This was the solution I was looking for! Thank you! 


@Telcoguru wrote:

Go to Menu => Settings => Audio & Video => Video Settings => Video Format and select what format you would like. Make sure that the STB is connected with HDMI or component cables to the TV. Only channels above 500 are HD channels. Check the TVs format settings as well.


 

LawrenceC
Moderator Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,002
Registered: ‎03-18-2013

Re: Only getting 480p

Message 7 of 7
(1,715 Views)

As this thread is now over two years old, it will be locked in order to keep discussions current. If you have the same or a similar question/issue we invite you to start a new thread on the topic.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title