×

Switch Account

Opening Screen when Starting the TV

Opening Screen when Starting the TV

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎05-13-2016

Opening Screen when Starting the TV

Message 1 of 7
(646 Views)

When I turn on my TV with FIOS, sometimes it starts with a program channel that i recently watched other times it starts with a static screen of some show which I guess Verizon is trying to promote and then I need to click on the "OK" on the remote to get past it.

 

How can I make it so that the TV always starts with my prior channel that I watched?

6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 760
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Opening Screen when Starting the TV

Message 2 of 7
(610 Views)

Go to: Settings>System>Television>Recommendations and turn that off. Restart box. Or for even less, go to Settings >Notifications >Promotions  and turn those off too. From there you can also disable Recommendations in it's own menu item.

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎05-13-2016

Re: Opening Screen when Starting the TV

Message 3 of 7
(551 Views)

Even though I said the above was an accepted answer, it turn out that the solution did not work.  I check my setting and the recommendation is showing off and after I changed the setting I unplugged the unit and then plugged it back in.

 

So if someone has another suggestion I would appreciate it.

Highlighted
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 760
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Opening Screen when Starting the TV

Message 4 of 7
(508 Views)

The only other thing I can think of is going through the menu and make sure all instances of recommendations are disabled. It's in about 3 different places. I'd also try disabling last watched Rail and see if that helps. There used to be a setting as to the start up channel, but it's long gone.

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎05-13-2016

Re: Opening Screen when Starting the TV

Message 5 of 7
(504 Views)

In the "television" section of setting is "interactive TV"  what is this and I have it set to Enable.

 

I have looked at other setting and do not see any "recommendations" any place else

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎01-15-2011

Re: Opening Screen when Starting the TV

Message 6 of 7
(495 Views)

I think what you are seeing is the Verizon "screen saver" - what gets displayed if the set-top box or DVR is powered off.

Highlighted
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 760
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Opening Screen when Starting the TV

Message 7 of 7
(460 Views)

 


@ZachE1 wrote:

I think what you are seeing is the Verizon "screen saver" - what gets displayed if the set-top box or DVR is powered off.


This could be correct. If you see a screen with the time and the Fios logo, you dont have the STB on yet. That's the screen saver if it's a static screen with a dark background and the logo, not the recommendations. Once the box is powered up, you should see the last channel.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.