Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

Picture Quality in HD

Reply
tns
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,759
Registered: ‎05-22-2010

Re: Follow-up on FIOS Picture Quality in HD - 11-24-12

Message 21 of 28
(1,894 Views)

@thehonesttruth wrote:

The sharpest setting on the JVC  tv has remained unchanged from DISH to FIOS, so this constant should have no impact on what FIOS is transmitting. Again, much sharper and clear with DISH. Receiving a replacement receiver so will swap and see what happens.


Don't assume that the sharpness settings don't effect different input signals.  Particularly since last I checked DISH was sending a lower number of pixels (1440) then fios.  Try lower your setting and see if the picture improves.  With my samsung on 50 the picture for a high quality signal from a blu-ray actually looks awful.  But lowered the picture is spectacular.

thehonesttruth
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-24-2012

Re: Follow-up on FIOS Picture Quality in HD - 11-24-12

Message 22 of 28
(1,873 Views)

I changed my JVC's sharpness setting from 30 down to 15. The picture quality with FIOS did not improve, it became softer losing more clarity and sharpness. Believe you me, I want FIOS to work but the sharpness and level of detail with DISH was a 10. With FIOS, it's about a 7: close but to the discriminating viewer, you can tell the difference.

tns
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,759
Registered: ‎05-22-2010

Re: Follow-up on FIOS Picture Quality in HD - 11-24-12

Message 23 of 28
(1,858 Views)

Well it was worth a try.

 

Still cannot think why your picture quality is not as good as Dish.  Bad cables somewhere, bad STB/DVR, bad ONT.

thehonesttruth
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-24-2012

Re: Follow-up on FIOS Picture Quality in HD - 11-24-12

Message 24 of 28
(1,843 Views)

I tried. After hooking up replacement receiver - same quality. Tech came out and ran a cable directly from FIOS box to receiver - same db rating of 26, so this eliminated DISH cable and multiple splitters being used impacting quality. Will be going back to DISH. Regardless of the great bundled deal with FIOS, if the quality is not there not worth it.

dex
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-02-2014

Re: Picture Quality in HD

Message 25 of 28
(1,500 Views)

Hi Molly,

 

Have you resolved this issue? I am having the same problems after switching over from Time Warner Cable.

Even after switching cables, stb and tv adjustments, and a technician coming over, nothing has changed.

The usual channels that we watch on TWC are significantly better compared to what we see now with Fios so I dont think it's an issue with the program not filmed in HD. 

I've noticed that switching between 720p and 1080i on the STB dont seem to make a difference on my 1080i capable Samsung TV.

 

Have you resolved this issue?

 

Thanks.

tns2
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: Picture Quality in HD

Message 26 of 28
(1,481 Views)

@dex wrote:

Hi Molly,

 

Have you resolved this issue? I am having the same problems after switching over from Time Warner Cable.

Even after switching cables, stb and tv adjustments, and a technician coming over, nothing has changed.

The usual channels that we watch on TWC are significantly better compared to what we see now with Fios so I dont think it's an issue with the program not filmed in HD. 

I've noticed that switching between 720p and 1080i on the STB dont seem to make a difference on my 1080i capable Samsung TV.

 

Have you resolved this issue?

 

Thanks.


you are in a thread that was nearly two years old.  Open a new thread.  And in it give some details about your setup.  WHat STB, TV model, type of conneciton (hdmi?), and channels you are testing.

ElizabethS
Moderator Emeritus Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 6,227
Registered: ‎04-29-2009

Re: Picture Quality in HD

Message 27 of 28
(1,442 Views)

As this thread is now over two years old, it will be locked in order to keep discussions current. If you have the same or a similar question/issue we invite you to start a new thread on the topic.

ggoldman_VZ
Administrator Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-22-2013

Re: Picture Quality in HD

Message 28 of 28
(1,278 Views)

We have launched a new Self Service Troubleshooter Flow this weekend:

 

Fix FiOS TV Picture Problems:

https://www.verizon.com/ForYourHome/VZRepair/vziha/Servicecad.aspx?ihaweb=FIX_PIC

 

Please let me know if you have any questions!

 

- Greg

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title