×

Switch Account

Picture quality in comparison

Picture quality in comparison

Reply
Copper Contributor Danny
Copper Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎11-12-2008
Message 1 of 14
(7,090 Views)

I just switched from Cox to Verizon recently. I can't complain about HD channels. However, I notice that image quality on regular channels are worse than what I had before with Cox (of course, I use same TV, Sharp AQUOS 52 inch). In other words, images I had on regular channels with Cox are clearer and sharper.

Anybody experiences the same? Any solution? Thanks.

13 REPLIES 13
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,340
Registered: ‎10-13-2008
Message 2 of 14
(7,082 Views)
Danny Sadly yes that is the case however its being fixed.....verizon with the last 1.6.0 patch softened the picture too much and will be corrected shortly.
Copper Contributor Danny
Copper Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎11-12-2008
Message 3 of 14
(7,078 Views)
Well, thanks Techman for this explanation. Do u have any idea when that improvement is gonna happen? My area is Fairfax county, VA.
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎09-03-2008
Message 4 of 14
(7,078 Views)
undweatand img 1.6b coming to washington,dx metro nexr week. hope it fixes that and some audio sync issues.
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎09-03-2008
Message 5 of 14
(7,078 Views)

correcting horrible typos.

 

Understand that IMG 1.6b is coming to Washington, DC Metro area next week. From reliable source. Hopefully will fix this and some audio sync issues.

Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,059
Registered: ‎10-21-2008
Message 6 of 14
(7,071 Views)
From what he has posted this issue should be fixed in patch 1.6.1 and the ETA is end of nov to early dec. But remember that is just a estimated time. Can be before of hopefully not after. 
Copper Contributor HowlingMad
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-12-2008
Message 7 of 14
(7,045 Views)
Good to hear there will be a fix.   Even though I only have a standard def TV I have been finding the HD channels to be much clearer. I don't know what the conversion to SD process with the box is, but I am surprised at how good those channels look.  I watched the HD airing of the movie The Piano, a few days ago and synched it up with my dvd copy, The HD broadcast was sharper and cleaner than the dvd.   On network TV channels it's even more lopsided, The HD Fox feed of Prison Break was razor sharp, while the SD feed was soft and fuzzy.   I always assumed the SD feeds would look better on an SD television as the signal does not have to be reconverted to 480i, but that has not even been close to the case.   I am almost tempted to upgrade to the Extreme HD package to get the much better picture quality on channels like FX and Sci-Fi along with 5.1 sound that many SD feeds don't carry, despite not owning an HD TV.
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎09-03-2008
Message 8 of 14
(7,041 Views)

Good to hear there will be a fix.   Even though I only have a standard def TV I have been finding the HD channels to be much clearer. I don't know what the conversion to SD process with the box is, but I am surprised at how good those channels look.  I watched the HD airing of the movie The Piano, a few days ago and synched it up with my dvd copy, The HD broadcast was sharper and cleaner than the dvd.   On network TV channels it's even more lopsided, The HD Fox feed of Prison Break was razor sharp, while the SD feed was soft and fuzzy.   I always assumed the SD feeds would look better on an SD television as the signal does not have to be reconverted to 480i, but that has not even been close to the case.   I am almost tempted to upgrade to the Extreme HD package to get the much better picture quality on channels like FX and Sci-Fi along with 5.1 sound that many SD feeds don't carry, despite not owning an HD TV.

 

 

Curious...How do you get HD chanenels to display on your TV?

Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,059
Registered: ‎10-21-2008
Message 9 of 14
(7,031 Views)

@pixed wrote:

 

 

Curious...How do you get HD chanenels to display on your TV?


If you have a HD receiver, DVR or MR-DVD you can use is to get HD on a SD box with the coax, RCA, or component cables

HowlingMad wrote: 
  I watched the HD airing of the movie The Piano, a few days ago and synched it up with my dvd copy, The HD broadcast was sharper and cleaner than the dvd.  

 
And as far as the picture being better on HD, how do you have your STB hooked up to your TV  is it RCA or Component. If its Component cables that would most likely be why. Component does a 480p pictures, where RCA is 480i. You may want to hook up your DVD player to component cables as well to get a 480p picture from your DVD's 
Component --> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Component_video
RCA --> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RCA_connector
 

 

Message Edited by TimSykes on 11-13-2008 09:11 AM
Highlighted
Copper Contributor Patti
Copper Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎10-28-2008
Message 10 of 14
(6,859 Views)
The S-Video cable works also. I think it has a little sharper picture than with the RCA.  I use it to go to my DVD recorder. Even before the 1.6 update I thought the recordings I made from the HD channels were better than the ones from SD channels.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.