Pixellation & 8801 Code
Weezknight
Enthusiast - Level 2

I'm brand new to FiOS and have been really enjoying the service.  It seems, though, that each day a handful of channels are very pixellated and then just turn off, with the message to call and provide an 8801 quick code.

This morning it was at least Showtime2-West (and could've been others).  Last night it was Nick2, The N, and Noggin.  The night before it was a different group of channels.  Are these just general "outages" that occur from time-to-time?  It just seems that at any given moment I always have some channels that are unavailable, and I'm just wondering if this is something I need to worry about?

During install all of my boxes tested "very high" according to the installer, so I know my coax isn't a problem.  Also are there are certain channels that are unavailable completely.  Since install the "Soundtrack Channel" has never worked, and I know there are 1 or 2 others.

0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Pixellation & 8801 Code
Weezknight
Enthusiast - Level 2

Well I spent about a half-hour on the phone with Verizon support.  We moved the HD-DVR box to another room and all of the channels came in perfectly, so it was not a STB issue.  Even though it was getting a perfect signal, the CSR seemed to believe it was a coax problem, which they would charge me for.

I decided before they dispatched a truck that I'd check things out myself.  Lucky for me I had 2 runs of cable running parallel in our basement.  The installer had used the RG6 cable marked "digital" that Dish Network had installed.  Next to that was a 15-year old RG5 coax cable that the previous owner of my house had run to split his signal throughout the home.

Long story short, the "new" RG6 cable that Dish had used was garbage.  As soon as I switched to the 15-year old cable, I had all of the channels coming in perfectly, without any pixellation.