×

Switch Account

Problems with new FiOS TV app

Problems with new FiOS TV app

Reply
Copper Contributor Loki
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-28-2012
Message 1 of 8
(6,380 Views)

#1 iPhone screenshot = the older FiOS Mobile app.  Note the "Watch on TV" option / icon.  This option is available for ALL subscribed channels, even if you cannot "Watch Here" on the iPhone.  Unlike many other channels, I cannot watch CBS on a mobile device.

 

#2 iPhone screenshot = the newer FiOS TV app.  Note that there is no "Watch on TV" option for CBS, which is a subscribed channel.

 

#3 and #4 iPhone screenshots = the newer FiOS TV app.  Channel is NBC, not CBS.  Unlike CBS, I can stream NBC to a mobile device.  Note the "Play on . . ." option on #3 and the "Play on your TV" options on #4.

 

So, it appears that the new FiOS TV app omits the step-saving option to "Watch on TV" those channels that do NOT stream to a mobile device.  In my case, that means ABC, CBS, PBS and others.  I can use the app to tune a TV to these channels but I have to launch the Remote (icon in upper right corner), navigate to numeric keypad and then punch in the channel number.

 

 

FiOS Mobile 1.jpgFiOS TV 1.jpgFiOS TV 2.jpgFiOS TV 3.jpg

7 REPLIES 7
Copper Contributor Loki
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-28-2012
Message 2 of 8
(6,379 Views)

Volume Up/Down control does not work with my LG HDTV.  I don't know if this a problem with just my LG HDTV or all LG HDTVs or neither.  The Mute button, however, does work.  This is a problem for both the older FiOS Mobile app and newer FiOS TV app.

 

FiOS TV 4.jpg

Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,705
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 3 of 8
(6,317 Views)

App can only control STB functions.

So if volume control is set to fixed on STB, then you won't have volume control via app.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Copper Contributor Loki
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-28-2012
Message 4 of 8
(6,267 Views)

Thanks for your reply.  Unfortunately, STB is set to "Variable".  I should note that, when incrementing or decrementing volume using the "virtual remote" of the FiOS Mobile app, a horizontal bar, which shows the volume level as you increment or decrement volume,  does appear in the upper right corner of TV.  However, when I click down (-) or up (+) on the volume control button, the real volume does NOT change.  In other words, the horizontal bar shows that volume is changing but, in fact, there is no chanage.  Another clue is this:   Both the FiOS hand-held remote and the LG HDTV remote launch the same visual volume indicator on the TV in the lower right corner.  This visual indicator is NOT the horizontal bar, mentioned above, which appears in the upper right corner of the TV.  I speculate that this 2nd visual indicator is specific to the LG HDTV.  In other words, somehow the FiOS hand-held remote uses the volume control programming of the LG HDTV hand-held remote.

Contributor kpark88
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-24-2018
Message 5 of 8
(5,128 Views)

Hi Remote doesn’t find my box to use it - won’t work9C07E536-F8FE-4315-8147-53ADDB9AB12A.png

 

Contributor PauletteM
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-31-2018
Message 6 of 8
(4,848 Views)

I have the same issue.  This just began recently, past week or so.  


@kpark88 wrote:

Hi Remote doesn’t find my box to use it - won’t work9C07E536-F8FE-4315-8147-53ADDB9AB12A.png

 



Help, anyone.

Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,705
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 7 of 8
(4,845 Views)

Have you tried rebooting your Verizon router and the STB?


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Contributor PaminPA
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-27-2019
Message 8 of 8
(1,838 Views)

I no linger have the "watch on STB" option on the app. Also discovered today that some On Demand cintent (like 60 Days In S5) is free on the app but 1.99 an episode on STB. And Ive added/registered my mobile device and rebooted the STB to no avail.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.