×

Switch Account

Programming Samsung Smart TV remote to FIOS Set Top Box

Programming Samsung Smart TV remote to FIOS Set Top Box

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor cjhund63
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-04-2013
Message 1 of 7
(42,553 Views)

Why can't my Samsung Smart Tv Control my QIP7100p2 Set Top Box? I went through the set up process on the TV and when I get to the part where you find the model name of the set top box, I put in the QIP7100P2 (and appears that way on the Fios menu information); however, the channel up and down still does not operate the TV channels--indicating that the TV remote cannot program itself to the FIOS STB. Do I need to change out the FIOS STB?

6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,070
Registered: ‎08-07-2008
Message 2 of 7
(42,521 Views)

@cjhund63 wrote:

Why can't my Samsung Smart Tv Control my QIP7100p2 Set Top Box? I went through the set up process on the TV and when I get to the part where you find the model name of the set top box, I put in the QIP7100P2 (and appears that way on the Fios menu information); however, the channel up and down still does not operate the TV channels--indicating that the TV remote cannot program itself to the FIOS STB. Do I need to change out the FIOS STB?


No, it's the Samsung TV that is not programming correctly.  Check for a setting on the remote programming to control the STB channel versus the internal TV channel. 

That said, have you tried it the other way around?  My neighbor has a Samsung Smart TV and uses the FiOS remote to control both, and it works great for him.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,819
Registered: ‎08-23-2008
Message 3 of 7
(42,503 Views)

I believe the subject is the Samsung Smart TV feature on HDMI 1 that can use a IR transponder output when it is programmed, and it is like an IR Blaster, and it should control the STB. When setting up my TV it asked for my provider and everything. The Smart TV Functions from the TV remote will then do many things and allow the TV to control the STB. I had to bypass all of that and not use it because I have no Verizon TV hardware, except Cable Cards. Thus I have no way to test it. The new Smart Hub features with the faster CPU do many thing the older Sammys would not. Support for Flash playback etc...

 

One of my latest stay at home gift to myself is the newest model 34" Samsung which serves as my MC monitor also. I am typing this post on it right now. RAZOR SHARP! I need to go back to work and save money.

Highlighted
Contributor samsungsmarttv
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-10-2013
Message 4 of 7
(41,857 Views)

how do you get a samsung smart tv to work with fios, I can not get any local tv stations or use our dvr.  should I be using the fios remote or the smart tv remote?????

 

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012
Message 5 of 7
(41,835 Views)

@samsungsmarttv wrote:

how do you get a samsung smart tv to work with fios, I can not get any local tv stations or use our dvr.  should I be using the fios remote or the smart tv remote?????

 



The samsung remote if you are trying to use the Samsung smart tv's Fios App.  It does not include all channels and any local channels.  Note the Samsung remotes do not appear to be programmable to control the FIOS stbs.

 

For all your channels and to control your DVR you use the FIOS remote.  THe TV selecting whatever input is connected to the DVR.

Highlighted
Contributor acny
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-04-2019
Message 6 of 7
(2,485 Views)

what is stb  and were is that setting located 

Highlighted
Moderator Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9,379
Registered: ‎03-18-2013
Message 7 of 7
(2,477 Views)

As this thread is now over two years old, it will be locked in order to keep discussions current. If you have the same or a similar question/issue we invite you to start a new thread on the topic.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.