Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same day delivery.

QAM Clear Channels Changed? (Los Angeles / Riverside, CA)

Reply
GaryDoug
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 402
Registered: ‎07-07-2010

Re: QAM Clear Channels Changed? (Los Angeles / Riverside, CA)

Message 11 of 17
(1,847 Views)

@FX2k1 wrote:

Verizon could not help me as I do not have STBs, they just reset the ONT. However I found the channels higher up on the line up.... a bit odd but most are still there.  (Well with the exception of FOX 11 HD, FOX 11 SD is still there).  Most of the local channels seem to be in the 63.x - 78.x range.  There are multiple versions of the same channel (SD & HD).

 

Is there a reason this has occured?  As of last night if I wanted to watch Fox 11 , or CBS2 I would just go to Channel 11 or 2.  Now I have to dig around a lot to find them.

 

My local area is Los Angeles / Riverside, CA


63.x to 78.x is where they are found in most Verizon markets, certainly where I am in Florida. If they were't there before where you are, then VZ just moved them. You will have to use the raw unmapped channel numbers for now. Not sure how Media Center deals with that, but you can try "Add Missing Qam Channels" in the setup section if they aren't already there now. Could be some trial-and-error involved though.

H2
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-05-2009

Re: QAM Clear Channels Changed? (Los Angeles / Riverside, CA)

Message 12 of 17
(1,839 Views)

I rescanned an found all local channels including the Government but the PSIP does not seem to exist.

Here is what I found for some of my tuners.

Chn Tuner
2.1 77-360
4.1 63-336
4.2 63-3364
4.4 63-3365
5.1 63-331
5.2 63-3315
5.3 63-3314
7.1 68-353
7.2 68-3532
7.3 68-3533
9.1 68-343
11.1 78-365
13.1 78-366
24.1 65-3243
24.3 65-245
24.4 65-246
28.1 77-359
28.4 77-3596
30.1 76-3383
50.1(8) 76-3503
50.2   76-3504
56.1   65-3561
58.1(15) 74-348
58.2     74-3413
58.3     74-3414
19       55-100
49    66-158
31  127-12731
33  127-12733
35  127-12735
41  128-12841
42  128-12842
45  128-12845
This is for a VIZIO QAM tuner.  Other tuners get slightly different results.

 

GaryDoug
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 402
Registered: ‎07-07-2010

Re: QAM Clear Channels Changed? (Los Angeles / Riverside, CA)

Message 13 of 17
(1,831 Views)

@H2 wrote:

I rescanned an found all local channels including the Government but the PSIP does not seem to exist.

Here is what I found for some of my tuners.


 

Good job. Now all you need is for Zap2it or Microsoft to see your post and have some data-entry person key it in 😉

 

 

Carl
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 381
Registered: ‎09-01-2008

Re: QAM Clear Channels Changed? (Los Angeles / Riverside, CA)

Message 14 of 17
(1,777 Views)

I just updated the firmware on my Ceton card, and did a re-scan of the channels on my Hauppague 1600, and it did not discover any channels on the 1600. Time to start manually entering the information, time permitting, or maybe lob a call to FSC or check what was tgb. 

 

Carl

 

p.s. I submitted Feedback on the MS board.

cpaulPHL
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-02-2011

Re: QAM Clear Channels Changed? (Los Angeles / Riverside, CA)

Message 15 of 17
(1,753 Views)

Same issue started here in Suburban Philadelphia today (June 2). Called Verizon and was told that unless I'm using one of their digital converter boxes they can't support me.

 

UGH!

Carl
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 381
Registered: ‎09-01-2008

Re: QAM Clear Channels Changed? (Los Angeles / Riverside, CA)

Message 16 of 17
(1,718 Views)

Microsoft is refusing to look at the issue, saying that their US providers do not support QAM channels. Of course, it was working before, but I guess the issue is that there is something wrong with the PSIP mappings either from Verizon, or within Media Center.

 

I wish I could use WinTV to test, but that CD is long gone and I can't install the update without it.

 

Carl

mschaff
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-13-2011

Re: QAM Clear Channels Changed? (Los Angeles / Riverside, CA)

Message 17 of 17
(1,647 Views)

Re: cpaulPHL 

 

Same issue here in suburban Philadelphia (Fort Washington).  My Linux MythTV box (using zap2it channel guide) and pcHDTV HD-5500 card stopped recording HD a couple weeks ago after working flawlessly for over a year here and several years prior on Boston's FIOS system.  Rescanning now so we'll see what comes up.  If anyone has suggestions, please share.

 

UPDATE:

After a rescan, it looks like all is well.  The OTA channels were shifted up to 75+ but now I can record again.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title