Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get gifts fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same-day delivery.

QIP 6416-2 IR (Infra Red) Jack Not Working

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-02-2010

QIP 6416-2 IR (Infra Red) Jack Not Working

Message 1 of 9
(9,292 Views)

I'm on my second QIP 6416-2 DVR box and can't seem to get the IR port working. I spoke with a customer service agent who said the jack should be live. I'm using an infra red extender: http://www.amazon.com/Infrared-Receiver-Extender-Cable-STBs/dp/B002JSDHCY

 

I previously had FiOS at another apartment (not sure about the DVR model number) and the IR port worked fine. I've also tested the IR extender in two QIP 7100-1 units and both work. 

 

Has anyone had any success in getting this to work? I have a home entertainment center and there isn't space for the unit by the TV.

 

Greatly appreciated!

8 REPLIES 8
Highlighted
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,692
Registered: ‎05-17-2009

Re: QIP 6416-2 IR (Infra Red) Jack Not Working

Message 2 of 9
(9,245 Views)

If you have a plasma screen tv. make sure the IR "eye" is more than 2 feet from the screen. Many Plasma screens will interfear with IR.




====================================================================================

Error exists between keyboard and chair.
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-02-2010

Re: QIP 6416-2 IR (Infra Red) Jack Not Working

Message 3 of 9
(9,215 Views)
Unfortunately, that's definitely not the issue. I'm using the same setup as my previous apartment (where it worked fine). I've also tested it by holding the eye in my hand away from the TV...the same way I tested the 7100-1 units (which also work fine).

Does anyone have an extender working with the 6416-2?
Highlighted
Gold Contributor I
Gold Contributor I
Posts: 752
Registered: ‎10-18-2010

Re: QIP 6416-2 IR (Infra Red) Jack Not Working

Message 4 of 9
(9,190 Views)
Unfortunately that extender will not work with a any 6416 DVR box, in fact no extender will work with a 6416. THe IR port in the back in an output not input. You need a 7000 series box for that extender to work.

Here is the users manual for the 6416 http://www.motorola.com/staticfiles/Video-Solutions/Products/TV%20Video%20Distribution/Set-tops/Hybr...

If you look at page 12 the IR port is to connect out to a VCR.
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: QIP 6416-2 IR (Infra Red) Jack Not Working

Message 5 of 9
(9,163 Views)

winner winner chicken dinner,.

 

bob is correct.

 

 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor I
Gold Contributor I
Posts: 752
Registered: ‎10-18-2010

Re: QIP 6416-2 IR (Infra Red) Jack Not Working

Message 6 of 9
(9,138 Views)
Thanks for the laugh Hubrisnxs, my personal trainer is constanly using that expression as well. I've been trying to do what harley1387 wants to do I've got a new flat panel I want to mount on the wall and put my dvr box in a closet, unfortunately I have a 6416 as well and through my investigations discovered that there are no IR extender capabilities with that box. I'm waiting for the new QIP-7232 (500G) DVRs to be distributed before I asked for a new one.
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 147
Registered: ‎11-18-2009

Re: QIP 6416-2 IR (Infra Red) Jack Not Working

Message 7 of 9
(9,107 Views)

There are no IR recievers for 6416 P1/P2. Only 7XXX have IR extenders.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-07-2010

Re: QIP 6416-2 IR (Infra Red) Jack Not Working

Message 8 of 9
(8,981 Views)

Yes, IR Blaster

38KHz IR Repeater Kit

http://www.irblaster.info/38khz_distribution.html

 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-02-2010

Re: QIP 6416-2 IR (Infra Red) Jack Not Working

Message 9 of 9
(8,680 Views)

As a quick update (was on vacation the past few weeks), I asked customer service to take a look at my old account to track down the DVR model number where the IR extender worked. Turns out the unit was a 7216 (thanks to everyone who responded about the 7xxx series). Going to swap out the 6416-2 next week, which customer service still adamantly claims should work 🙂

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.