Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

QIP 7232 2 Component output is only 720x480/60p when HDMI is not in use.

Reply
MichaelJx
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-03-2015

QIP 7232 2 Component output is only 720x480/60p when HDMI is not in use.

Message 1 of 6
(1,591 Views)

STB is set to HD channel. When one TV is connected to HDMI the second TV connected to Component output receives signal 1920x1080/60i. When HDMI TV is turned off the component output is only 720x480/60p, the picture has horizontal bars and looks squashed. When HDMI TV is turned back on the component output is back to HD. I went through all setup options and don't see any relevant choices. In hidden menu I have TV Type set to 16:9, HDMI/YPbPr output set to 1080i and 4:3 Override set to OFF. HDMI is set to USER. Is this behavior normal for this STB or am I missing something?

5 REPLIES 5
CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,969
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: QIP 7232 2 Component output is only 720x480/60p when HDMI is not in use.

Message 2 of 6
(1,574 Views)

If you disconnect the HDMI and only use the component, does it work properly?

If so, may be some funny interaction with HDMI handshake while the one TV is off.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
MichaelJx
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-03-2015

Re: QIP 7232 2 Component output is only 720x480/60p when HDMI is not in use.

Message 3 of 6
(1,559 Views)

No, it doesn't work. Either HDMI cable unplugged or TV connected by HDMI powered down component output is 480p. Only with "active" HDMI component is 1080i.

PJL
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,069
Registered: ‎08-07-2008

Re: QIP 7232 2 Component output is only 720x480/60p when HDMI is not in use.

Message 4 of 6
(1,519 Views)

@MichaelJx wrote:

No, it doesn't work. Either HDMI cable unplugged or TV connected by HDMI powered down component output is 480p. Only with "active" HDMI component is 1080i.


I also have a 7232 and simultaneously output HDMI and component (and RF for that matter).  When the HDMI source is off I still get 1080i on the component output.  Something is going on on your setup that I do not see.

 

Are you feeding HDMI to your TV via some sort of AV receiver?  If so, the resolution of the receiver (not the TV) may be being reported to the STB when the TV is off, likely 480p.  That may explain what you're seeing.  If that's the case, you might check your AVR settings for HDMI passthrough.  As I said, I'm not experiencing what you are and I'm passing the HDMI through a Denon AVR X2100W and have no issues with the STB resolution reverting to 480p on the component output when the TV is off.

MichaelJx
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-03-2015

Re: QIP 7232 2 Component output is only 720x480/60p when HDMI is not in use.

Message 5 of 6
(1,502 Views)

Thank you for your comment. In your case probably Denon keeps HDMI "hot" or your STB is somehow different from mine. I connected one TV straight to HDMI and second one to component. In this setup component output is 480p when first TV is off and 1080i when this TV is on. The message on the second TV connected to component is very clear and display is normal with 1080i and squashed with480p.

PJL
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,069
Registered: ‎08-07-2008

Re: QIP 7232 2 Component output is only 720x480/60p when HDMI is not in use.

Message 6 of 6
(1,486 Views)

@MichaelJx wrote:

Thank you for your comment. In your case probably Denon keeps HDMI "hot" or your STB is somehow different from mine. I connected one TV straight to HDMI and second one to component. In this setup component output is 480p when first TV is off and 1080i when this TV is on. The message on the second TV connected to component is very clear and display is normal with 1080i and squashed with480p.


I checked without the Denon AVR and the STB still provides component at 1080i even if the HDMI TV is off.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.