Quantum Media Server Freezing up

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-02-2014

Quantum Media Server Freezing up

Message 1 of 9
(1,561 Views)

I keep having issues with my media server freezing up and rebooting. It has happened 6 times in the past month and jus this morning again. The most recent this morning included freezing up and when I was tying to waych a program on anothe TV is would give me the msg " tying to connect to the media server" then a 3 minute count down. A msg then appears "Returning to normal viewing channels" When it returns it goes to a channel that I had not been watching.

 

I reboot the server but it still repeats this cycle periodically. Any one have experience like this? I wonder if this is a software update that has not taken completely.

8 REPLIES 8
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-03-2014

Re: Quantum Media Server Freezing up

Message 2 of 9
(1,496 Views)

I'm having the same problem ever since I upgraded to Quantum FIOS.  I had absolutely no problem with the older equipment.  But the Verizon technicians are telling me its the coax wiring.  This is a new home with RG6 coax and FIOS was installed prior to moving in.  So I expect the wiring to be up to spec.  They also tell me that it is a problem from Router to Media Server.  These two devices are connected through a passive splitter also installed by the wiring contractor. And the length of the cable is less than 10 feet for either of them.  So I don't suspect my wiring.  This problem seems to be most problematic with Video On Demand, meaning that it is streaming the video.  I watch in HD format.  I plan on testing this with Standard Definition format tonight.  The media server has already been replaced and that didn't take care of the problem.  So I don't know what else it could be.  I'm having a technician come out to the house because I've exhausted all other options.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: Quantum Media Server Freezing up

Message 3 of 9
(1,461 Views)

OBviously it could be something wrong with your boxes.  But the most common problem is still with the COAX, Splitters, connectors.  Check them all just in case.  THere is now a detailed screen on the network but I don't now what represents good readings on it.  (menu/customer support/connected device status.  Select the VMS and advanced info.  Look through the pages).  Good luck.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎12-05-2011

Re: Quantum Media Server Freezing up

Message 4 of 9
(1,435 Views)

They keep telling me it could be a PON card and I'm the only one having the issue. Have you also had random pixelization on only a few channels.

 

See my post titled Frustrated.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-02-2014

Re: Quantum Media Server Freezing up

Message 5 of 9
(1,386 Views)

Good News! A Verizon Tech came to the house on a service call and fixed the issue. When the cables were installed by the builder that terminated in the home run box, an analog splitter was used. The Tech explained that the new system ie, Quantum required a digital splitter to properly communicate with the units in the house. He replaced the splitter  and it works great.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: Quantum Media Server Freezing up

Message 6 of 9
(1,378 Views)

Digital splitter.  No such thing.  Perhaps the old splitter did not support the necessary frequency range or was a one way splitter.

Highlighted
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 628
Registered: ‎06-06-2014

Re: Quantum Media Server Freezing up

Message 7 of 9
(1,374 Views)

@rlindsey98 wrote:

Good News! A Verizon Tech came to the house on a service call and fixed the issue. When the cables were installed by the builder that terminated in the home run box, an analog splitter was used. The Tech explained that the new system ie, Quantum required a digital splitter to properly communicate with the units in the house. He replaced the splitter  and it works great.


What he meant was he installed a moca 2.0 splitter which is needed for quantum tv. 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-02-2014

Re: Quantum Media Server Freezing up

Message 8 of 9
(1,362 Views)

:roblem solved, and it also gave a certain individual a chance to showcase their superior intellect, sorry but in my world I see it as digital vs analog. Not to put too fine a point on it like you did but none the less but thank you for your contribution even though the tone was not approtriate.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎12-05-2011

Re: Quantum Media Server Freezing up

Message 9 of 9
(1,275 Views)

Mine actually ended up being the MoCA to ethernet bridge they put in downstairs. I noticed that when i got the New Quantum Router. I would see the transfer rate at 630, but a few hours later it would drop. So I removed it and haven't had any issues since. 

 

MoCA will lower to a common speed for all devices, unlike what VzB says. But now I'm stuck paying a rental charge on a new router, because there service didn't work as a designed.

 

Now if I can get them to clear the order so I can change services and take advantages of some of the new pricing. Again, poor customer service VzB.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.