×

Switch Account

Quantum Quirks and Irritations!!!

Quantum Quirks and Irritations!!!

Reply
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,175
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
Message 11 of 33
(1,820 Views)

infinitempg,

 

A few thoughts:

 

1) I guess I just prefer to find answers by searching available media rather than calling someone and asking. So I don't think in 8+ years I have ever called Verizon to ask if something works, or how it works, or what it does, etc. I feel much more comfortable when I can read something for myself (sometimes over and over and over....) and make sure I understand (not to say something written can't be wrong, but at least I am not depending on some rep's opinion or understanding of something written or heard). Now over the years I certainly have called Verizon regarding issues like my bill being wrong or something broken, but I don't want someone elses interpretation on whether something should work, or how it works. Clearly you are not alone in your experience, there have been numerous reports here and on other forums by people who have called Verizon and gotten the wrong information; that's a shame, but I suspect it is true with many, moybe most, corporate call centers.

 

Regarding the client wireless issue, I have never seen anything written (paper or the web) indicating that the clients work wirelessly. Yes, there are people who have speculated in public that the support is coming, but I have no way to know whether they really have any idea what they are talking about or not. And when I look at my clients I see no indication that there is any wireless capability built-in, so it seems to me that Verizon would need to deliver some kind of attachement to existing clients, or a replacement client box, for wireless to work (and I bet Verizon would charge more for those options).

 

2) Regarding your images: yes i do see errors like those occasionally when trying to access my VMS1100 from my tablet. But as the error says, when I try again later it usually works. I would guess that maybe 1 out of every 5 or 10 times I try I get the error, but if I wait a 15 seconds or so it generally works the next time. I have no idea what the issue may be that triggers the error, but at least for me it seems to be transient.

 

But to repeat: the Android Verizon FiOS Mobile app most deffinitely works with Quantum TV. And since calling Verizon hasn't given you the correct info in the past, why would you make the call again? Seriously, there is lots and lots of Quantum TV information here on the Verizon Forums, and on other forums like dslreports.com, that is probably far more accurate and complete than you will get by calling.

 

3) Unless you didn't (or don't) understand the difference between Enhanced and Premium service, I just don't see how that statement I circled in the image doesn't make it very clear that to get 6 TVs attached you are going to get 2 VMS1100 boxes. Plus of course the price has jumped more than just one more client.

 

4) You said today the client is ahead of the server; I wonder if it makes a difference which device you tune to the specific channel first? Maybe in the past you tuned the VMS1100 to the channel first, and this time the client was tuned first. Just a thought...

 

Anyway, I hope your experience improves as you learn more about Quantum TV, and get more used to it. Plus hopefully Verizon will continue to deliver updates to the code to improve and exand upon the experience.

 

__________________________________
Justin
FiOS TV: Extreme HD, Internet: 50/25, Digital Voice
VMS Enhanced Service: 1 server, 2 clients
Keller, TX 76248 (VHO 1)

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎09-15-2009
Message 12 of 33
(1,776 Views)

Have you had any luck watching live TV with FIOS Mobile on your android device?

 

The video qualtiy for me makes it pretty useless...

Highlighted
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 628
Registered: ‎06-06-2014
Message 13 of 33
(1,764 Views)

@ScottChapman wrote:

Have you had any luck watching live TV with FIOS Mobile on your android device?

 

The video qualtiy for me makes it pretty useless...


Picture is clear and works fine on my Galaxy S4.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎09-15-2009
Message 14 of 33
(1,760 Views)

All channels including HD?

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎03-24-2009
Message 15 of 33
(1,739 Views)

Justin,

 

Thanks for the info and suggestions. I normally look things up before contacting Verizon support as just like two days ago I decided to call over lunch, I have an hour for lunch and that "call" lasted 30 past my lunch break. Included getting disconnected twice, transfered at least nine times and each time having to go through the whole scenario of confirming my account number, my name, my address, my last bill amount, what my home phone number is, and then explaining the entire scenario again. Not fun, and so not fixed.

 

As far as those error messages, I have waited, in fact have been waiting and trying again for a couple weeks. I NEVER don't get those messages. It has NEVER worked since I got Quantum. And just tried again just now and still doesn't work. Noticed that the server box we returned three weeks ago still shows up on FiOS Mobile so I'm thinking the mobile app is trying to talk to a DVR that doesn't exist... But Verizon tech doesn't think that's the case but so far billing has not been able to remove that even though I have confirmation they received the box over two weeks ago.    ::sigh::

 

We can see if which TV is tuned to a station first changes anything, would be funny if we tune to them simultaneously will they be in sync.

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎03-24-2009
Message 16 of 33
(1,691 Views)

Another Quantum leap backwards....

 

We have our porch wired and setup with outdoor speakers that tie into our DVR with a seperate sub-amp that we can control the volume and balance independent of the inside home theater system.  We are always sitting outside enjoying nature and playing one of several Pandora stations we customized thru the Pandora widget.  

 

Yesterday we went to sit outside and guess what.... NO PANDORA WIDGET IN QUANTUM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!   In fact it looks like our pages of widgets were whittled down to a handful.  WHAT HAPPENED TO THE VERIZON WIDGETS?!?!?!?!  

 

So where would we of gone to look that up before we upgraded???

 

PUH-lease.... can we get the new fancy upgraded high tech Quantum to be at least as good as the non-Quantum world???  

Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 273
Registered: ‎11-03-2013
Message 17 of 33
(1,680 Views)

Pandora will be back soon in a new update. When the update will come is the question.

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎03-24-2009
Message 18 of 33
(1,673 Views)

@roaddogg wrote:

Pandora will be back soon in a new update. When the update will come is the question.


I wonder what the chances are to have someone actually from Verizon post what the "upgrades" are and when they intend to roll them out.  I mean if the chances are above zero....

 

Does anyone know if we guinea pigs have a way to submit issues or suggestions to Verizon's Quantum team?  So far not in any particular order :

 

- Get the boxes in sync (or a way to tweak them with delays)

- Get the lag out of the remote functions

- Put back all the widgets we had pre-Quantum

- Make the remote OK button actually select something rather than having to use the right arrow (like pre-Quantum)

- Clean up FiOS Mobile (works for some, not for me)

- Add back in the ability to change how long the channel info is displayed (like pre-Quantum)

- Get the lags out of the guide (like pre-Quantum)

 

 

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,791
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 19 of 33
(1,659 Views)

I would never expect the VMS and IPcs to be in sync with each other (old STBs and DVR weren't in sync either).

That is because VMS gets the signal first and then has to send to IPCs via IP. Different delays in signal path can make them out of sync.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎03-24-2009
Message 20 of 33
(1,639 Views)

@CRobGauth wrote:

I would never expect the VMS and IPcs to be in sync with each other (old STBs and DVR weren't in sync either).

That is because VMS gets the signal first and then has to send to IPCs via IP. Different delays in signal path can make them out of sync.


Can understand that completely but also disappopinted we were told that by a Verizon rep at the Verizon store.  Thing we would like to see if something like we have in our fairly low end home theater system... programmable delay to assure the audio is in perfect sync with the video.  Put a menu selection on each box to allow someone to tweak the video+audio timing back to slow down whatever box is ahead of the other and get them in sync, even if just for that one particular time like for a multi-room Superbowl party or any occasion that you'd have more than one TV on the same show.

 

In fact if you read about DIRECTV Whole-Home DVR Service it states : "With this system, all the receivers are synced in real-time and redundantly. Since this was the first system on the market with multi-room syncing, the other providers were left playing catch-up. Cable doesn't appear to have anything remotely in the works to match it."

 

Makes me start to think about DirecTV....  in fact off to start shopping  Smiley Indifferent

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.