Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

Question on Fios Quantum

Reply
Tonyvv
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-22-2013

Question on Fios Quantum

Message 1 of 13
(1,381 Views)

Just wonder can someone tell me if you are able to record tv shows from any tv when you have fios Quantum?(not just record from the main dvr)

12 REPLIES 12
Justin
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Question on Fios Quantum

Message 2 of 13
(1,358 Views)

@Tonyvv wrote:

Just wonder can someone tell me if you are able to record tv shows from any tv when you have fios Quantum?(not just record from the main dvr)


Yes.

 

__________________________________
Justin
FiOS TV: Extreme HD, Internet: 50/25, Digital Voice
VMS Enhanced Service: 1 server, 2 clients
Keller, TX 76248 (VHO 1)

Enygma
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-17-2014

Re: Question on Fios Quantum

Message 3 of 13
(1,316 Views)

This in theory is correct, however you cannot watch any content on any TV without disconnecting and reconnecting to each media server.

Enygma
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-17-2014

Re: Question on Fios Quantum

Message 4 of 13
(1,314 Views)

To clarify, if you purchase Quantum Premium (you buy 2 VMS boxes) they work COMPLETELY independently of each other.  You must disconnect and reconnect from individual media clients.  Additionally the VMS boxes cannot talk to each other or watch content on the other VMS.

 

If you only have one VMS you won't run into this issue at all. 

Tonyvv
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-22-2013

Re: Question on Fios Quantum

Message 5 of 13
(1,299 Views)

I will have 4 tvs but only 2 of the 4  need to record their own shows.  Just wondered if Quantum was the way to go or should I get 2 seperate dvrs.(I will watch my shows and the other person will watch their own shows most likely wont watch what the other records)  Also if im watching a show and it almost over as long I have have been watching it from the beginning will it record the entire program?

sangs
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 526
Registered: ‎06-24-2010

Re: Question on Fios Quantum

Message 6 of 13
(1,295 Views)

@Enygma wrote:

To clarify, if you purchase Quantum Premium (you buy 2 VMS boxes) they work COMPLETELY independently of each other.  You must disconnect and reconnect from individual media clients.  Additionally the VMS boxes cannot talk to each other or watch content on the other VMS.

 

If you only have one VMS you won't run into this issue at all. 


This is 100 percent false and I'm not really sure from where you received this information.

 

I have Quantum Premium, with the two VMS servers and you DO NOT have to disconnect and reconnect anything to watch recordings. Also, the VMS servers most certainly "talk to each other" and share content.

 

Say your VMS boxes are named A and B. If you record something on A, you can watch it on B - and vice versa. Also, if you record something on A or B, you can watch it from ANY client box (non DVR) in your setup. 

 

The only restrictions are that you cannot choose to schedule a recording from one VMS to the other and your client box is married to a specific VMS - either A or B - for SCHEDULING recordings. (If you wanted to marry it to a different VMS server, then you simply go into the settings and choose to connect it to the other.)

 

To summarize - you can watch any recording on any box in your setup. You can schedule recordings directly on the VMS or from a client box connected to that VMS. Hopes this helps clear up the misinformation. 

Tonyvv
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-22-2013

Re: Question on Fios Quantum

Message 7 of 13
(1,293 Views)

How many client boxes can a VMS have attached to it?

sangs
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 526
Registered: ‎06-24-2010

Re: Question on Fios Quantum

Message 8 of 13
(1,291 Views)

@Tonyvv wrote:

How many client boxes can a VMS have attached to it?


Not 100 percent sure, but there are lots of questions and answers about Quantum service at this link: 

 

http://www.verizon.com/Support/Residential/Tv/FiosTv/General+Support/Top+Questions/QuestionsOne/1215...



Enygma
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-17-2014

Re: Question on Fios Quantum

Message 9 of 13
(1,273 Views)

Sangs,

 

   This information was provided to me by support.   It is now obvious that I got subpar support from Verizon concerning this.   Currently my setup will not allow me to do this.  Support seemed rather knowledgable but now from what you are saying it appears the tech support rep had no clue of what he was doing.   My assumption is the self install should have addressed this.  I followed all the steps in the setup guide during the installation process.

sangs
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 526
Registered: ‎06-24-2010

Re: Question on Fios Quantum

Message 10 of 13
(1,269 Views)

@Enygma wrote:

Sangs,

 

   This information was provided to me by support.   It is now obvious that I got subpar support from Verizon concerning this.   Currently my setup will not allow me to do this.  Support seemed rather knowledgable but now from what you are saying it appears the tech support rep had no clue of what he was doing.   My assumption is the self install should have addressed this.  I followed all the steps in the setup guide during the installation process.


Sadly, this does not surprise me at all. In fact, it probably doesn't surprise anybody. There are so many examples of Verizon "support" not having a clue about its own products that it would be laughable, if it weren't so depressing.

 

Whenever I truly need support from Verizon I post a thread in the Verizon Direct Forum at DSLReports. They are by far the most knowledgeable and helpful when it comes to assistance. Others have had success using the FiOS Twitter feed, but I don't tweet so cannot comment on that experience. There's also a huge thread about the Quantum service (VMS) at DSLReports too. If you're still having issues, I'd take one of those routes. 

 

Good luck.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title