×

Switch Account

RECENTLY Black Bars top and bottom on HD

RECENTLY Black Bars top and bottom on HD

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-04-2018

RECENTLY Black Bars top and bottom on HD

Message 1 of 15
(5,873 Views)

In past few days when I turn on my multi-room STB /TV I'm getting top & bottom black bars. Picture appears stretched. This on HD channels, TV set to 16:9.  Rebooting the STB corrects the problem  BUT  recurres the next day, requiring another reboot.  Happening daily for past 3-5 days.  My other STB has no similar problem.

14 REPLIES 14
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎12-04-2011

Re: RECENTLY Black Bars top and bottom on HD

Message 2 of 15
(5,807 Views)

I'm having the same issue as of October 5, 2018. HD channels that are playing HD content are coming in as really odd widescreen and have the black bars on the top and bottom of the screen. I have not changed any of the picture/zoom settings on my TV or my STB.

 

What is the issue that is happening with these boxes? Also, what is the reboot code for DVRs? I'd like to at least apply temporary solutions until Verizon gives a more permanent fix. I don't want to unplug and replug my DVR and I was almost sure there was some way to input special codes into the DVR for certain actions like reboot.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎08-20-2014

Re: RECENTLY Black Bars top and bottom on HD

Message 3 of 15
(5,749 Views)

Sounds similar to what I've been going over and over in this thread:

https://forums.verizon.com/t5/Fios-TV-Technical-Assistance/FIOS-DVR-STB-set-to-1080P-occasionally-TV...

 

See if you can check your TV's reported display resolution.. in my case, the 1080 16:9 broadcast was displaying as 480p 4:3 on my TV.  A quick fix for me, was to go to the Video Settings on the STB.. set to a different display mode, then revert.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-04-2018

Re: RECENTLY Black Bars top and bottom on HD

Message 4 of 15
(5,726 Views)

I been rebooting (without UNPLUGing) by goiny to MENU  -  Customer Support  - 

Top Support Tools  -  scroll down to "Reboot STB"

 

This reboots the Set Top Box without unpluging / re-pluging.

 

VERIZON  Fix The Problem!!!!!!

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-04-2018

Re: RECENTLY Black Bars top and bottom on HD

Message 5 of 15
(5,723 Views)

Please. 

Of course TV is set to same parameters as its ALWAYS been. This is a VERIZON issue, NOT a TV issue.  My ITC1100 STB does not have the same problem, just the multi-room STB.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,791
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: RECENTLY Black Bars top and bottom on HD

Message 6 of 15
(5,722 Views)

This is mainly a peer to peer support forum.

For Verizon assitance, you will need to contact support.

Either 1800Verizon or twitter @verizonsupport


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎08-20-2014

Re: RECENTLY Black Bars top and bottom on HD

Message 7 of 15
(5,700 Views)

Do me a favor..

 

Next time this happens, hold the "D" button on the bottom-right of your remote for 5-6 seconds.. let go.   Wait, you'll get a support menu... then a "hidden" menu w/ a User Settings option.

 

Go in there.. what display mode do you have?  Mine says 480p... switch it to 1080p60 and the problem is fixed.. until next time.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎12-04-2011

Re: RECENTLY Black Bars top and bottom on HD

Message 8 of 15
(5,692 Views)

I'll try using the "D" button the next time this occurs, jt7. Thanks for the heads up. I've been bothere by the issue all weekend but tonight when I turned on the set top box, the display was working properly. Am I lucky at the moment or has the issue been resolved for others as well?

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎08-20-2014

Re: RECENTLY Black Bars top and bottom on HD

Message 9 of 15
(5,680 Views)

I'd guess lucky..

 

I've had the problem for about 3 weeks...  

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-13-2019

Re: RECENTLY Black Bars top and bottom on HD

Message 10 of 15
(4,966 Views)

Thanks! That was driving me INSANE!

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.