Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

Recordable DVR machines

SOLVED
Reply
ryder85
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎10-26-2014

Re: Recordable DVR machines

Message 11 of 18
(2,589 Views)

"4.28" upgrade? Really? If so, kudos to Verizon. Thanks.

GeneDL
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-30-2012

Re: Recordable DVR machines

Message 12 of 18
(2,497 Views)

What is this Version 4.28 software and how can we get it?  We're in the Northern NJ/NYC programming area.  I've got two of the new Quantom 1100 DVR's and the system settings for both indicate a software version 4.27 for something.  Is this update something I can request from Verizon?  This is very frustrating and disappointing since I was able to record from my hookups previously.  Now I can't even burn a DVD of the weather forecast off my local news station.  I've tried to reset (reboot) the boxes in hopes of getting updated software, but to no avail.  Is there any hope for a solution for this, short of swiching back to Cablevision?

kheland
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-13-2013

Re: Recordable DVR machines

Message 13 of 18
(2,480 Views)

I was having the same problem burning a recorded program to DVD, so I was excited to see that the 4.28 upgrade had apparently resolved this problem. When I did a test this morning, however, I still got the same message on my DVD recorder that "This program is not allowed to be recorded." My build # is 4.28.3. Has this been resolved by Verizon or not? Or is there another software update (4.28.4?) that will fix it?

CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,966
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Recordable DVR machines

Message 14 of 18
(2,466 Views)

4.28.3 is being rolled out to all.

My udnerstanding is that 4.28.2 was stopped and rolled back in a few areas because issues were being experienced with it. Thos areas I thought were first to get 4.28.3.

I verified that my DVD Recorder did work properly with 4.28.2.

When I get 4.28.3, I will verify if I begin to have an issue again or not.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
kheland
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-13-2013

Re: Recordable DVR machines

Message 15 of 18
(2,452 Views)

Thanks. Please let me know either way when you get 4.28.3. Might be a problem with my DVD recorder, although I never had a problem before. I'm using a Magnavox MSR 90D6.

CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,966
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Recordable DVR machines

Message 16 of 18
(2,233 Views)

Took me  awhile to get back to this.

I have checked version 4.28.3 and it works just fine for me on linear channels.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
hallrk
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎06-28-2013

Re: Recordable DVR machines

Message 17 of 18
(2,218 Views)

One channel I noticed that I can't record off of now is AMC. My wife DVR'd a few horror movies around Halloween to record on a DVD, When I tried it wouldn't let me record. I could record from the MGM channel and GetTV but not AMC.

Also FS1 is unrecordable but the main FOX channel is. I thought that was a little strange.

GeneDL
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-30-2012

Re: Recordable DVR machines

Message 18 of 18
(1,679 Views)

Today is January 1, 2016.  I originally posted back in September that I couldn't burn my DVD's off of FIOS, where I formerly had no problem doing so.  Shortly after that post, I checked my STB's and found they had been updated to the revised software suggested by others and I could again burn my DVD's with no problem.  This lasted until about a week ago, and nowI can no longer use my DVD recorder off of FIOS again.  This is not limited to premium channels, I can't burn anything, even broadcast channels or FIOS One weather reports.  I live in the Northern NJ service area, and does anyone have any idea of what is going on with FIOS?  This is becoming very frustrating.

 

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.