×

Switch Account

Recording FROM Motorola HD DVR

Recording FROM Motorola HD DVR

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-19-2009
Message 1 of 7
(5,300 Views)

Is there any way to copy the programs that are on my DVR? Can I copy to my computer?

6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 668
Registered: ‎10-26-2008
Message 2 of 7
(5,265 Views)

I don't know if the HDMI and component video can be used simultaneously. I do know that composite video, and S-Video outputs are always active, even when viewing HD content. So it is possible to connect the DVR to a VCR or similar device (and probably some PC video capture cards) via the S-Video output.

 

For Audio, I have Y cables on the L and R outputs, so they can be split. One pair goes to the TV, the other to my VCR. Video for the VCR is S-video, since it is an S-VHS recorder.

 

In place of S-Video, you could also use composite video (lower quality),

 

In addition, the IEEE-1394  ports are supposed to be active, which would provide true HD output.

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,325
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
Message 3 of 7
(5,245 Views)

 


@jmw1950 wrote:

I don't know if the HDMI and component video can be used simultaneously. I do know that composite video, and S-Video outputs are always active, even when viewing HD content. So it is possible to connect the DVR to a VCR or similar device (and probably some PC video capture cards) via the S-Video output.

 

For Audio, I have Y cables on the L and R outputs, so they can be split. One pair goes to the TV, the other to my VCR. Video for the VCR is S-video, since it is an S-VHS recorder.

 

In place of S-Video, you could also use composite video (lower quality),

 

In addition, the IEEE-1394  ports are supposed to be active, which would provide true HD output.


 

 

All outputs are are available at all times.

 

The IEEE-1394 only works with those channels that do not have the 5C copy flag set.  Never tried it but others have said that this only works for the channels that are in the clear (locals, music channels, etc.).

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 206
Registered: ‎11-21-2008
Message 4 of 7
(5,239 Views)

You can record the component outputs in full HD using a HD-PVR

 

Take a look!

 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,692
Registered: ‎05-17-2009
Message 5 of 7
(5,193 Views)

currently there is no way to directly transfer a recoded program from the dvr to any other device.

 

You can however transfer to another device by connecting the dvr to a recording device (DVD, VCR, Computer, etc) pressing play on the DVR and record on the recorder.

 

I do this all the time from my DVR to my DVD player. the only problem is that you have to watch the show as it is being transfered. I usually do this at night when I go to bed. Play the show on the dvr and tell the dvd to record while I'm sleeping. the drawback is I can only do one show per night this way.

 

 

to do this to a computer, your computer, would need a tv input on it but the general Idea is the same.




====================================================================================

Error exists between keyboard and chair.
Highlighted
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 585
Registered: ‎10-22-2008
Message 6 of 7
(5,129 Views)

Tivo DVRs do allow you to download recorded files to your computer in full HD with DD5.1.   This is exclusive to TiVo, as no other cable or satellite DVR offers comparable functionality.

 

 

 

TivoHD on FiOS

 

With the Verizon boxes, you can only capture the analog output as the program is played.  You would connect the composite, s-video, or component output from the Verizon box to the capture card or capture box connected to your computer.  You would then use your computer's capture software to record the content as it is played.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 206
Registered: ‎11-21-2008
Message 7 of 7
(5,090 Views)

You all ignored me

 

The Hauppauge HD-PVR will allow you to record in FULL HD from the Moto Cable Box

 

I have recorded alot of Full HD VOD using it, and put it out to AVCHD DVD

 

You connect component out to it and to your TV.

 

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.