×

Switch Account

Recording New programs only

Recording New programs only

Reply
Highlighted
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,692
Registered: ‎05-17-2009
Message 1 of 8
(5,375 Views)

A buddy of mine over at Verizon just messaged me saying that Verizon is pushing out an update to the guide/dvr that is supposed to fix the issue with the box not being able to tell the difference between new and repeat shows. He says it is supposed to roll out tonight. So if we have the DVR's set to record "new only" it should now only record new. They still have lots of bugs to fix but at least this is a step in the right direction.




====================================================================================

Error exists between keyboard and chair.
7 REPLIES 7
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 186
Registered: ‎09-09-2008
Message 2 of 8
(5,344 Views)

Interesting.  I hope that you are correct, but...  the problem is not with the DVR, it is with the program guide not having accurate data and flags.  If they are swittching to a new Program Guide provider (which they outsource to a company called FYI) then it's a long-awaited upgrade.  I'll believe it when I see it.

Highlighted
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 381
Registered: ‎09-01-2008
Message 3 of 8
(5,326 Views)

i read that the upgrades scheduled for tonight have been postponed.

 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-11-2009
Message 4 of 8
(5,252 Views)

I switched to Verizon back in July and since then I been beating this issue with TS, they have no clue what I'm talking about.... They say the guide comes from the TV station and they have to fix the problem.

 

I'll give Verizon till the end of Sep if I don't see a fix I will switch back to Directv. All my seasons start this month and this issue is going to fill my tinny hard drive in no time. I can't believe how frustrating is to deal with uneducated TS... No their fault but Verizon for not forwarding info... Oh well

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎09-03-2009
Message 5 of 8
(5,229 Views)

@LoloBond wrote:

I switched to Verizon back in July and since then I been beating this issue with TS, they have no clue what I'm talking about.... They say the guide comes from the TV station and they have to fix the problem.

 

I'll give Verizon till the end of Sep if I don't see a fix I will switch back to Directv. All my seasons start this month and this issue is going to fill my tinny hard drive in no time. I can't believe how frustrating is to deal with uneducated TS... No their fault but Verizon for not forwarding info... Oh well


 

I switched from a DTV DVR to a FiOS DVR in June and I appreciate the additional recording options with FiOS. I was to the point of scrolling through the guide for shows that I want to watch and making sure they record using DTV. I no longer do that with FiOS so I'm a happy camper now.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-11-2009
Message 6 of 8
(5,216 Views)

DTV? I'm sorry could you please be more specific? TIA!

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎09-03-2009
Message 7 of 8
(5,205 Views)

 


@LoloBond wrote:

DTV? I'm sorry could you please be more specific? TIA!


 

It's my shortcut for DirecTV.

 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-11-2009
Message 8 of 8
(5,196 Views)

I never had any problems with Directv recording new programs only, unfortunately I switched to Verizon to save $15 and have all in 1 bill... Me and my great ideas!

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.