quick menu

Recording to DVD from DVR

Recording to DVD from DVR

Reply
Contributor loulou0304
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-17-2008
Message 1 of 9
(13,232 Views)

I used to have Bright House, when a progeam was finished being watched on the DVR an option was to "Record to VCR." (We used the DVD recorder). There is no option like this with FIOS. I called Verizon support (HAHA) and the agent told me - get this - that I had to call the manufacturer of the DVD recorder. I mentioned how lame an answer that was and he laughed. Would have been better off with the stock answer of "It's not available in your area."

 

Anybody have any fixes for this or know when it wil be available, if ever?

8 REPLIES 8
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 2,325
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
Message 2 of 9
(13,210 Views)

 


@loulou0304 wrote:

I used to have Bright House, when a progeam was finished being watched on the DVR an option was to "Record to VCR." (We used the DVD recorder). There is no option like this with FIOS. I called Verizon support (HAHA) and the agent told me - get this - that I had to call the manufacturer of the DVD recorder. I mentioned how lame an answer that was and he laughed. Would have been better off with the stock answer of "It's not available in your area."

 

Anybody have any fixes for this or know when it wil be available, if ever?


 

You can always transfer (via component, s-video, composite, or RF) to an external device like a VCR or DVD recorder.  The only caveat is that you won't be able to watch anything other than what you are transferring.  Don't know if Brighthous allowed transfer while watcing something else, but for now, that is the only way to accomplish what you are asking.

 

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Contributor michaelmc
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-09-2010
Message 3 of 9
(12,676 Views)

Hello Verizon Community

 

I am at a standstill. I have an LG DVD Recorder/VCR plugged into my TV, I have a Verizon Fios DVR and I'm hoping to record programs from the DVR to DVD. I had this hooked up a year ago with my Cox DVR, but for the life of me, I can't recall how that was set up. Cox even had a section in their manual on how to record your DVR programs to VCR/DVD.

 

I need to be able to view the DVD Recorder's menu screen in order to initialize the disk prior to recording...so am I right in assuming I need the DVD Recorder plugged into the TV somehow in order to view the menu on the TV?

 

 

I tried the "AV input of the DVD recorder to the AV output of the DVR", that didn't work out. I don't care about video quality; I just need to initialize the disk and view the program through the DVD recorder in order to record it.

 

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

 

 

Copper Contributor Rebalol
Copper Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎08-29-2009
Message 4 of 9
(12,655 Views)

I have the cable that comes out of the wall into the fios box; another cable from the box to the input of the dvd recorder and another one from the output of the dvd to the tv.

I also have RYW cables with the same setup. 

 

I have to switch the input of the tv to the av setting but then i can see the dvd recorder and do what I want.  I then play whatever I want on the tv and record it to dvd at the same time.  You can't watch something else while recording to the dvd. 

 

Previously when I had direct i would record my dvd's while i was gone.  With fios, i have the multi room dvr so have my dvd recorder in a different room so i can record whener i want.  I have a HD box on my SD tv so i can record the hd programs off the dvr to the dvd.

 

Hope this helps. 

 

Reba

Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 371
Registered: ‎12-15-2009
Message 5 of 9
(12,604 Views)

All you need to do is connect some sort of audio/video cable (S video + audio, RCA, component) from the output on the DVR to the input on the VCR/DVD, and then again from the output on the VCR/DVD to the input on your TV. Turn your TV to whatever input mode you connected your DVD to it with (i.e. Video 1), and if you turn your DVD recorder to "input" or a comparable setting, it will display whatever your DVR is displaying.

 

The only downside is that you'll have to record right from there, and it will record any menus or whatever else is going on with your DVR, so you can't change the channel. You can, however, turn off your TV because that won't effect the video going from your DVR to your DVD recorder.

 

That's the one downside about the Verizon DVR; it has no DVR-to-VCR or DVR-to-DVD record option. With my old Charter DVR, there was an option to record a recorded program to an external source, and still be able to turn off your DVR or watch a different channel.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor MikeT
Copper Contributor
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎08-06-2008
Message 6 of 9
(12,485 Views)

If you have a multi-room DVR (?), could you attach your recorder to the verizon boxes output in another room and record the show while watching something else on the main dvr?

 

Contributor michaelmc
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-09-2010
Message 7 of 9
(12,450 Views)

UPDATE:

 

I got audio but no video...just some snow and wiggly lines. I'm a beaten man.

 

Did everything you guys said, not sure how I got so close only to get smacked back down.

 

I should've remembered how I set it up with my Cox DVR.

 

No, I don't have a mutli room, just one in my family room.

 

 

I have a Toshiba DLP, LD DVD Recorder and the Motorola DVR from Verizon Fios.

I connected AV cables from the DVR's output to the input of the DVD recorder (just used thte AV and V, no S-Video), and then had the output on the DVD recorder going into the TV.

 

Now, my DVD recorder settings was set to "cable TV" and not "TV" but it was so late I decided to tap out for the night...would that make a difference?

 

I'll keep plugging away, hopefully it'll work. Thanks everyone for the advice.

Silver Contributor I
Silver Contributor I
Posts: 668
Registered: ‎10-26-2008
Message 8 of 9
(12,439 Views)

You are close to having it work.  The DVD recorder need to be set to record from the AV input, not TV or Cable TV. Sometimes this is called Aux input, and there may be more than one.

 

You are presenting either S-VHS or Composite Video to the DVD, not Radio Frequency Television (The difference between over the Air TV and Cable TV for SD channels is the channel to frequency mapping)..

 

Anyway, set the DVD to record from the AV inputs (you may have to enable the S-Video if you have it). S-Video can give you much better quality on the DVD than Composite Video will provide.

 

Contributor michaelmc
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-09-2010
Message 9 of 9
(12,434 Views)

Thanks jmw, I will run over to radio Shack for lunch and grab an S-Video. Wish me luck. I'll send an update this evening.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.



Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
 

My Verizon

  • Add or Change Plan
  • Suspend My Service
  • Apps

Support

Watch Fios