×

Switch Account

Remote control not working properly

Remote control not working properly

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-06-2014

Remote control not working properly

Message 1 of 9
(1,116 Views)

I have had 2 remotes for years, now both of them have keys that no longer function.  I need 2 remotes to use 1 tv.  Verizon used to replace them for free, now they charge $15 for a remote.  It is not like I broke it, it is worn out.  That is such {word filter avoidance}.  They need to take as much money as they can from us.  Thinking about reducing some of the services I buy from them.  If they want to charge me for each little thing, maybe I should just drop some of the things that dont get used much, like the home phone service (since we have cellular) and some of the premium channels.  Maybe I'll just pick up Netflicks to see the show that I want.  Not a Happy Customer

8 REPLIES 8
Highlighted
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 628
Registered: ‎06-06-2014

Re: Remote control not working properly

Message 2 of 9
(1,075 Views)

I've had my remotes for a good 5 years and they still work...of course in my living room I'm using a logitech, but in the bedroom I'm still using the same remote and it gets used a lot. The question I ask is why are they worn out so much on your end?

Also, you can get replacements on ebay cheap. Yes Verizon used to give free replacements, but people abused that program and since the remotes are ours to own those who abused the program ruined it for those who really could use it.

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,796
Registered: ‎08-06-2008

Re: Remote control not working properly

Message 3 of 9
(1,051 Views)

Ebay is certainly the way to go at this point. You can get new remotes much cheaper.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-07-2014

Re: Remote control not working properly

Message 4 of 9
(968 Views)

I really don't think $8 (e-bay) for a remote is cheap considering it probably cost less than $1 to make. I have had fios for 18 months and had 1 remote replaced about 6 months ago and it already has issues. I don't see why verizon cannot replace a broken remote for free with the return of the old one, it's an easy fix and good for customer relations. I'm done when my contract is up, tired of little problems like ads popping up when I want the guide, or having to pay for something as basic as a remote control. BYE.

Highlighted
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 628
Registered: ‎06-06-2014

Re: Remote control not working properly

Message 5 of 9
(961 Views)

@slotr1 wrote:

I really don't think $8 (e-bay) for a remote is cheap considering it probably cost less than $1 to make. I have had fios for 18 months and had 1 remote replaced about 6 months ago and it already has issues. I don't see why verizon cannot replace a broken remote for free with the return of the old one, it's an easy fix and good for customer relations. I'm done when my contract is up, tired of little problems like ads popping up when I want the guide, or having to pay for something as basic as a remote control. BYE.


It would make more sense for them to switch them out, but they won't unless it's under warranty. If you switch companies you either will run into the same issue all depending on who you go with or you will be renting the remotes and is part of your fees so either way you're going to pay.

Really investing in a cheap Logitech Harmony remote is the way to go. Far better then any cable remote.

 

 

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎10-26-2014

Re: Remote control not working properly

Message 6 of 9
(936 Views)

If I am not mistaken, Calevision will replace a bad remote (0.24 rental) at no extra charge.

Highlighted
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 628
Registered: ‎06-06-2014

Re: Remote control not working properly

Message 7 of 9
(917 Views)

@ike71 wrote:

If I am not mistaken, Calevision will replace a bad remote (0.24 rental) at no extra charge.


Sure if you want crappy cable to go with it. There's a reason why they are at the bottom of the list.

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,796
Registered: ‎08-06-2008

Re: Remote control not working properly

Message 8 of 9
(860 Views)

@slotr1 wrote:

I really don't think $8 (e-bay) for a remote is cheap considering it probably cost less than $1 to make. I have had fios for 18 months and had 1 remote replaced about 6 months ago and it already has issues. I don't see why verizon cannot replace a broken remote for free with the return of the old one, it's an easy fix and good for customer relations. I'm done when my contract is up, tired of little problems like ads popping up when I want the guide, or having to pay for something as basic as a remote control. BYE.


You can go into the menu and disable the ads from popping up in the guide.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-20-2015

Re: Remote control not working properly

Message 9 of 9
(756 Views)

I just had this same issue. THe power botton is not working you have to really push it with lots of force. I went to my local verizion store and wanted $14.99 for a new one. Are they kidding. I'm in my 4th year with these remotes and they want to charge? BTW I just called Cox they don't charge for broken equipment as long as it was not destroyed by the user. Guess what I wil be doing when my contract is up in 3 months?

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.