quick menu

Removed Channels Keep Reappearing on Favorites List

Removed Channels Keep Reappearing on Favorites List

Reply
Contributor Stella_Star
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-15-2013
Message 11 of 66
(3,222 Views)

Removed Channels Keep Reappearing on Favorites List

- Favorites List changes randomly: channels are added and some removed.
- It is worse on Fav List 2.
- Channel numbers that are NOT on my "plan" are added also, porn included.
- Tried to fix using "Menu, Settings"; "options, add/remove"; downloading "settings" from the cloud and rebooting the STB thru the website.
Do you have correct channel information now?
- I'd refer a friend, but I would have to tell them know what does not work!

- If my kids view porn using these list I will be upset!

 

After checking these forums, I see the problem has been around for 8 years with out any solutions! Not very encouraging.

Contributor DPH
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-08-2018
Message 12 of 66
(3,066 Views)

My favorite feature, if it only worked.  Clearly a sign of low cost software development paying no attention to quality and testing.  Also a sign that they take their customers for granted and have no concern for user experience.  If only there was real competition.  Perhaps this is why the kids ignore TV and watch everything on their phones or tablets?

Contributor MSP2
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-15-2018
Message 13 of 66
(3,028 Views)

Anyone have a solution for this?  I was replacing our TV, and this necessitated unplugging the power from the STB.  When we turned everything back on, it had downloaded new software and was asking me for my preferences for screen size.  It then got stuck on that, so I pulled the plug and restarted.

 

Everything seems to work, but Favorites 2 is hosed now.  Stuff not adding, random stuff being added, remove-all not working etc.  To make it worse, we used Favorites 2 for the  KIDS' CHANNELS. Now it's filled with all sorts of inappropriate channels I dont' want them to see!

Copper Contributor cjcook2
Copper Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-11-2015
Message 14 of 66
(2,969 Views)

This happens on my "old" HD set top box, but fortunately not on the "new" one. No solution. I was hoping to find one here....

Contributor AlanA
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-29-2018
Message 15 of 66
(2,812 Views)

The channels I have set in my Favorites 2 remote keep getting changed.  Channels keep being added and/or removed automatically.

Contributor AngryET
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-10-2018
Message 16 of 66
(2,807 Views)

The first few times I noticed this, I wrote it off to "programming changes" or "lineup changes". I would go into the list and remove the channel.

But lately, more and more channels are appering, and I know that I have not selected them. 

What gives?

Contributor Release
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-02-2018
Message 17 of 66
(2,686 Views)

It keeps doing it to me and it drives me nuts.  I go in, remove the stuff that was added, and next time I check, there's more stuff added that I didn't add.  It's kinda **bleep** me off to be honest.

Contributor Gideon_A
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-28-2012
Message 18 of 66
(2,643 Views)

I had the same problem but it looks like I got this resolved today (!)

I started a chat with customer service, and got transferred to tech support.  The tech guy restarted my box, erasing all personal settings (needed my phone number and the serial number of the set-top box).  After this reset all the favorites got wiped out, and now it looks like they are stable.  I have slowly added a bunch of channels to the 2 lists,  and so far they are not corrupted.


BTW, when they ask you for the serial number, there's no need to dig in the back of the box -- you can do Menu -> System -> System Information then click INFO.      

Contributor 747
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-05-2018
Message 19 of 66
(2,594 Views)

Started with Favorites 2 going haywire, adding channels by itself and basically not functioning properly.   Now Favorites  1    is messed  up too and unuasable.   All my boxes are affected....

Contributor 3m743
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-25-2018
Message 20 of 66
(2,387 Views)

IT IS A VERIZON/FIOS PLOT AND IT IS REPREHENSIBLE!   STOP FORCING THESE BOGUS CHANNELS ON US! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP!

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.



Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
 

My Verizon

  • Add or Change Plan
  • Suspend My Service
  • Apps

Support

Watch Fios