Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get gifts fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same-day delivery.

Replace drive in external hard drive

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎02-22-2012

Replace drive in external hard drive

Message 1 of 5
(1,777 Views)

Our external HD is acting up, can I replace the drive itself? If so, will the DVR reformat it?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,914
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Replace drive in external hard drive

Message 4 of 5
(1,687 Views)

Sorry I wasn't clear when I said yes.

Yes, my understanding is that STB will reformat any drive connected to it.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,914
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Replace drive in external hard drive

Message 2 of 5
(1,763 Views)

Yes. The hard drive is your equipment.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎02-22-2012

Re: Replace drive in external hard drive

Message 3 of 5
(1,699 Views)

I wasn't asking if I was allowed, I was asking if it can be done. My understanding is that the drive is not formated as a standard computer drive (Apple or MS), so if I put a new drive in will the DVR format the drive, or is this something that had to be done at the factory?

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,914
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Replace drive in external hard drive

Message 4 of 5
(1,688 Views)

Sorry I wasn't clear when I said yes.

Yes, my understanding is that STB will reformat any drive connected to it.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.

View solution in original post

Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎02-22-2012

Re: Replace drive in external hard drive

Message 5 of 5
(1,684 Views)

Okay, thanks.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.