Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

SD Multi-Room DVR & HD STB?

SOLVED
Reply
JeffLT
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-29-2011

SD Multi-Room DVR & HD STB?

Message 1 of 7
(1,120 Views)

We have a SD Multi-Room DVR & 2 SD STBs. We want to add another STB & would prefer to make it a HD box. However, we want to ensure that we can watch programs recorded on the SD DVR. Is this possible?

 

Thanks in advance 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: SD Multi-Room DVR & HD STB?

Message 2 of 7
(1,111 Views)

The hd boxes do both hd and sd, and they will be able to watch SD recordings.   The SD box can't see HD so it will never record HD for the hd box, but anything you normally watch today, you should be able to watch with the new box, no problem. 

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: SD Multi-Room DVR & HD STB?

Message 2 of 7
(1,112 Views)

The hd boxes do both hd and sd, and they will be able to watch SD recordings.   The SD box can't see HD so it will never record HD for the hd box, but anything you normally watch today, you should be able to watch with the new box, no problem. 

View solution in original post

JeffLT
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-29-2011

Re: SD Multi-Room DVR & HD STB?

Message 3 of 7
(1,108 Views)
Excellent! Thanks for the quick response.
PJL
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,069
Registered: ‎08-07-2008

Re: SD Multi-Room DVR & HD STB?

Message 4 of 7
(1,087 Views)

What model DVR do you have?  I thought all DVRs were HD.

JeffLT
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-29-2011

Re: SD Multi-Room DVR & HD STB?

Message 5 of 7
(1,080 Views)
I don't remember the model off hand but most of our TVs are still SD so we haven't made the jump to an HD DVR.
Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: SD Multi-Room DVR & HD STB?

Message 6 of 7
(1,077 Views)

2708    it was there first dvr, and had like an 80 gb hard drive   

tns
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,759
Registered: ‎05-22-2010

Re: SD Multi-Room DVR & HD STB?

Message 7 of 7
(1,052 Views)

@JeffLT wrote:
I don't remember the model off hand but most of our TVs are still SD so we haven't made the jump to an HD DVR.


Other than possible price differences, there is no reason not to switch to a HD DVR and HD STB's.  They all can output to SD boxes, downconverting any HD pictures to SD.  In general a HD picture will often still look better in SD than the Broadcast SD picture.  Also some channels are only available in a HD flavor.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.