×

Switch Account

STB not updating w/moca adapter. No connection

STB not updating w/moca adapter. No connection

SOLVED
Reply
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-27-2020
Message 1 of 6
(667 Views)

So after doing some searching on this forum I was able to get the moca adapter working. In the living room i have internet coming out of the moca adapter (motorola mm1000) ethernet cable. speed test confirms good internet. However after resetting verizon cable box it could not update or find internet connection. I even tried plugging ethernet cable in back. Not sure what to try next.  Setup is:

ONT>>>>Ethernet to my own modem/router>>>>Ethernet from LAN port to LAN port of verizion Actiontec modem.

ONT>>>>>Coax to Actiontec router>>>>Ethernet from LAN port to LAN port of my router.

In other room i have coax from wall outlet to network connector of motorola MM1000. Coax from device connector to STB. Ethernet cable has good internet.

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-27-2020
Message 2 of 6
(636 Views)

basically getting the no data connectivity message. works fine except for no guide or on demand.

if a STB goes too long without an internet connection will i need to call verizon and have them try to reactivate it. 

Highlighted
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,582
Registered: ‎06-24-2018
Message 3 of 6
(618 Views)

The “Device” port doesn’t pass MoCA. You need to first connect to a two-port splitter. Then one Out to the MoCA adapter and the other Out to the STB. 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-27-2020
Message 4 of 6
(549 Views)

Thanks I will try a splitter from the wall. One going to stb and one to moca adapter. I just thought since the motorola mm1000 had a network connector and a device connector that i didn't need the splitter. but i will give it a try. tried resetting ONT last night. didn't help.

Highlighted
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,582
Registered: ‎06-24-2018
Message 5 of 6
(510 Views)

No problem. The Device port on MoCA adapters have a range of 5-1000 MHz which is why the MoCA doesn't work at the STB. MoCA works in frequencies above 1000 MHz. 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-27-2020
Message 6 of 6
(467 Views)

This resolved my issue. STB now has connection. Coax coming out of wall outlet in living room now goes to a splitter. one coax to stb and one coax to moca adapter. ethernet coming out of moca adapter has active internet.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.