×

Switch Account

Samsung 50inch plasma "hp-s5073" video cuts out with Motorola HD DVR "QIP6416-2"

Samsung 50inch plasma "hp-s5073" video cuts out with Motorola HD DVR "QIP6416-2"

Reply
Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 372
Registered: ‎09-15-2009
Message 21 of 31
(6,027 Views)

Yes it is under menu-settings-video-sd override. it may fix your issue. Haven't tried it on my tv yet. As far as your service guy, you might want to keep calling them out. If they do have to replace the TV, you will get one wioth newer hardware that should fix the issue. As long as the manufacturer has switched chipset as Sony has. Not sure about Toshiba but I know that Sony has stopped using the Samsung chips. It took them 3 years and 2 models off the Bravia TV to figure it out though.



"If your problem has been solved, please mark it as such. Don't forget to hand out your Kudos!"
Highlighted
Copper Contributor GailM
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-27-2009
Message 22 of 31
(6,026 Views)

How do you find out what type of chips they use?

Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 372
Registered: ‎09-15-2009
Message 23 of 31
(6,021 Views)

Generally it takes some digging. I used a combination of the spec sheet on Sony's website and a Tech Forum for Sony products.



"If your problem has been solved, please mark it as such. Don't forget to hand out your Kudos!"
Highlighted
Copper Contributor GailM
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-27-2009
Message 24 of 31
(6,018 Views)

I just had the video card replaced in the TV and since it went out again, should I assume that they are still using the Samsung chips?

Highlighted
Copper Contributor GailM
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-27-2009
Message 25 of 31
(6,010 Views)

I've found out from Verizon that if the card had the most recent firmware update it should work. I'm not sure what to do at this point.

Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 372
Registered: ‎09-15-2009
Message 26 of 31
(5,958 Views)

I would bet that the technician did not put a new video card in. He more than likely put in a card that was new but in storage and from the time as the TV was made. I recommend to keep calling them out. The only real way to get current hardware is for them to replace the TV with the current model.



"If your problem has been solved, please mark it as such. Don't forget to hand out your Kudos!"
Highlighted
Contributor cptab
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-02-2009
Message 27 of 31
(5,921 Views)

I agree with others, the video problem is not limited to Samsung.  I have a 3 year old Sony LCD and I use the HDMI cable.  I never had a problem like this with Comcast.  Verizon told me to use component and wait for the downloaded fix.  The rep couldn't comment on the difference re: video and audio except for the fact that she personally wouldn't notice the difference.  I'll seek some credits if the temp fix is of poor quality.  Why did I switch? 

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,175
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
Message 28 of 31
(5,902 Views)

 


@cptab wrote:

I agree with others, the video problem is not limited to Samsung.  I have a 3 year old Sony LCD and I use the HDMI cable.  I never had a problem like this with Comcast.  Verizon told me to use component and wait for the downloaded fix.  The rep couldn't comment on the difference re: video and audio except for the fact that she personally wouldn't notice the difference.  I'll seek some credits if the temp fix is of poor quality.  Why did I switch? 


 

 

From everything I have read, no, the problem is not limited to Samsung. However, it does not happen to everybody either; I have a 4 year old Sony LCD HD TV, use HDMI, and have never had the problem.

 

From a limited number of reports I have seen, it appears that the new 1.7 level of the IMG does significantly help with this problem. I think all of the comments I have seen so far say the problem is totally gone, although of course I might have missed some. The 1.7 level is being distributed nationally over the next month or so, Texas and California already have it, so I think if you and the others will just hold on for a little while longer I think (hope!) you will see a big improvement.

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
QIP6416, IMG 1.7, Build 09.82
Keller, TX 76248

Highlighted
Copper Contributor GailM
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-27-2009
Message 29 of 31
(5,909 Views)

My solution is to go back to Comcast, and I will continue with the Best Buy service calls as well. If switching back solves the problem GREAT, otherwise, I'd need a new TV anyway. I refuse to continue to attempt to make a square peg fit into a round hole. Complete and utter waste of my time.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor GailM
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-27-2009
Message 30 of 31
(5,894 Views)

I might add, that at no time, during the 6 -8 phone calls I made to Verizon was it acknowledged that other people were having the same problem, or that they were working on a software fix. I was given the same advice as to the cables. I have had the problem with both types; it made no difference.

 

I don't understand what you are referring to by "1.7 img." Is this something that will be sent to the box?

 

The last person I spoke to was very snippy with me, telling me that it was because the NEW video card in the TV didn't have the most recent firmware. You say that this "fix" is being distributed. WHEN? I live in Pennsylvania.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.