×

Switch Account

Scheduled series are not recording

Scheduled series are not recording

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Contributor Elissa77
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-10-2013
Message 1 of 13
(7,772 Views)

About 2 weeks ago I noticed that some of my scheduled series (record new only) were not being recorded.  After checking that there were no programming conflicts I manually programmed the following week's episode, and when I tried to program it as a series I received the message that the series was already programmed, so i chose to just record that episode.  Now I have to manually record these series.  What's up?

 

This is happening with the new season of Parenthood, Revolution and Top Chef.  Does anyone know why this is happening?

12 REPLIES 12
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎10-01-2013
Message 2 of 13
(7,767 Views)

Are you sure the programs you are trying to record are brand new (meaning they have never aired before). You may want to change the setting to "new and repeats".  This setting will make sure each episode will be recorded, even if the system is not sure if it is a re-run or a brand new episode, but it will not record duplicate episodes.

Contributor trishs43
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-15-2013
Message 3 of 13
(7,670 Views)

I'm having the same problem with the exact same shows.  Weird that these are all NBC shows (Bravo is owned by NBC).

Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎10-01-2013
Message 4 of 13
(7,661 Views)

It could be that they changed their programming recently and it hasn't updated our guide. you may have to delete the series settings and add them back in.

Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 342
Registered: ‎02-11-2011
Message 5 of 13
(7,653 Views)

I too was having this problem until i realized what the solution was recently which i had not thought of until it was brought to my attention by a technician. There was an assumption on my part that a new software update may address the issue but in reality the solution was right there all along. First off when verizon switched guide companies people should have taken a look at the series recordings that they had set up because something such as the listing of a program may cause the dvr not to record. For example a program like the dr. oz show was at some point listed as dr. oz but now it is listed as the dr. oz show where something so simple as the word the can cause the dvr not to record a program. As far as series recordings which i previously had an issue with because of air dates that are the same or descriptions of the programs being the same that too can be rectified with a few simple changes. If you set up a series make sure that you change the air time feature to anytime so that if there are any changes to a program such as it being broadcast on another night the dvr will then seek out that program to tape it regardless of when it is on. Another thing you may want to do because of air dates sometimes being listed as the same is to put it to yes for duplicates even though they are not the same episode. The last thing that could be done is that the keep feature is set to all so that the dvr never accidentally deletes an episode you wanted to see but was deleted because there were more than five of them already recorded. Even if some of them are repeats it is much easier to delete them rather than having to deal with missing out on something that you wanted to see but missed out on it. To use these features that i have mentioned press dvr then go up to manage series recordings then pick a program that you have set up then press ok then modify series and then after that you will see the keep, air time. and duplicates features i mentioned. Another thing you can do is extend the time of a program up to 4 hours or make it start 15 minutes before it should. This is a important feature to have especially when sports games go over their time and cut into network programming or if you want to extend the time of a sporting event.

Contributor JimY
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-13-2011
Message 6 of 13
(7,632 Views)

The only time I have had this happen n my DVR is when the program schedule changed very slightly - i.e..  a show that was normally scheduled from 9:00-9:30 occasionally was scheduled 9:01-9:30.  That 1 minute was the cause.  I have my recordings set to same time/same channel to avoid recording the extra showings at different times on additional days.

Contributor Elissa77
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-10-2013
Message 7 of 13
(7,590 Views)

Yes, I'm sure the programs I'm trying to record are brand new.  I tried your suggestion of changing the setting to new and repeats but it still wasn't showing the episode as scheduled.

Contributor Elissa77
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-10-2013
Message 8 of 13
(7,589 Views)

Thanks for all your suggestions but none of them addresses the issue I'm experiencing.  It's only happening for Parenthood, Revolution and Top Chef. 

Contributor Elissa77
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-10-2013
Message 9 of 13
(7,586 Views)

In those cases the guide would show that the episode won't be recorded due to a conflict.  That is not this issue.  There are no scheduling conflicts.

Contributor trishs43
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-15-2013
Message 10 of 13
(7,584 Views)

I deleted my scheduled Revolution series and added it again new.  It seemed to work.  Next week I'll try Top chef (I already have other things recoding during Parenthood time so I'll watch that on demand.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.