Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

Select HDMI: Amazon Fire TV Stick

SOLVED
Reply
johnsmith987
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-04-2015

Select HDMI: Amazon Fire TV Stick

Message 1 of 16
(142,510 Views)

I have an Amazon Fire TV stick. I plugged it into the HDMI port. I tried using the port on the TV and the port on the Set Top Box. On both of them I go to the remote, I press TV Input at the bottom of the remote, by repeatedly pressing TV Input I am able to get to HDMI 1 and HDMI 2. But I'm unable to select either HDMI port. I tried pushing OK/Enter and TV Input again. It doesn't work. How do I fix this?

I have VZ P265v2 RC
and Motorola QIP7232 set top box

 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
johnsmith987
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-04-2015

Re: Select HDMI: Amazon Fire TV Stick

Message 11 of 16
(26,383 Views)

I called Verizon, the tech told me to switch to HDMI1 using the remote that came with the TV (not the Verizon remote). That worked.

View solution in original post

15 REPLIES 15
CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,984
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Select HDMI: Amazon Fire TV Stick

Message 2 of 16
(142,493 Views)

The HDMI port on the STB is an output.

Not sure why switching HDMI ports onthe TV doesnt allow you to see FireStick.

Maybe try using TV remote instead.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
walt178
Gold Contributor II
Gold Contributor II
Posts: 991
Registered: ‎11-06-2012

Re: Select HDMI: Amazon Fire TV Stick

Message 3 of 16
(142,450 Views)

@johnsmith987 wrote:

... by repeatedly pressing TV Input I am able to get to HDMI 1 and HDMI 2. But I'm unable to select either HDMI port.

 


First, I don't understand the selected part of your post.  Once you get to HDMI1 or 2, you don't need to select anything. You are there.

 

Second, if you are just setting up your Fire TV stick, go to the correct HDMI input and be patient. It will take a few seconds, then the set up process should start.

 

Also, recheck the Fire TV stick power connection.  If it doesn't have power, it won't work.

johnsmith987
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-04-2015

Re: Select HDMI: Amazon Fire TV Stick

Message 4 of 16
(142,445 Views)

The power is fine.

 

On the screen I see "Verizon press menu to watch FIOS TV ..."

 

I press "TV Input" on the remote  and I see Tuner, Composite, HDMI1, HDMI2, VGA, VGA Component

By repeatedly pressing "TV Input" I navigate to the option I want (Tuner, Composite, HDMI1, HDMI2, VGA, VGA Component)

 

If I just stay at HDMI1 or HDMI2 it doesn't seem to select it, and the FireTV stick doesn't start. I have the stick plugged into the USB so the power should be fine. Is there a way for me to confirm that. There is no little LED or anything. I played with the FireTV remote, but got no response.

 

This also happens if I press Menu to go to FIOS TV and then press TV Input.

 

 

walt178
Gold Contributor II
Gold Contributor II
Posts: 991
Registered: ‎11-06-2012

Re: Select HDMI: Amazon Fire TV Stick

Message 5 of 16
(142,426 Views)

Try this:  Completely remove the Fire TV Stick.  Then use the following instructions to connect it.  Next switch your TV to the HDMI port you connected the Stick to and see what happens. 

 

Fire TV stick hookup.JPG

 

 

johnsmith987
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-04-2015

Re: Select HDMI: Amazon Fire TV Stick

Message 6 of 16
(142,419 Views)

" use the following instructions to connect it"

 

Did you forget a link, or forget to add the instructions?

CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,984
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Select HDMI: Amazon Fire TV Stick

Message 7 of 16
(142,407 Views)

This is not the Amazon Fire forum.

I don't think this issue is FIOS related.

You can Google assistance from here.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Predator
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎01-06-2015

Re: Select HDMI: Amazon Fire TV Stick

Message 8 of 16
(142,388 Views)

@johnsmith987 wrote:

I have an Amazon Fire TV stick. I plugged it into the HDMI port. I tried using the port on the TV and the port on the Set Top Box. On both of them I go to the remote, I press TV Input at the bottom of the remote, by repeatedly pressing TV Input I am able to get to HDMI 1 and HDMI 2. But I'm unable to select either HDMI port. I tried pushing OK/Enter and TV Input again. It doesn't work. How do I fix this?

I have VZ P265v2 RC
and Motorola QIP7232 set top box

 


1.Remove Fire TV Stick from TV HDMI Port, just make sure TV is off

2.Unplug power source from Fire TV

3.Wait 15 minutes

4.Turn on TV

5.Plug in power source to the Fire TV Stick then insert to prefer HDMI 1 or 2 or 3

6..Press any button on the Fire TV remote,wait 30 sec on each input until you see the picture on the screen.

1.Router: Quantum G1100 (Primary)2.Router :Nighthawk AC1900
3.Speed:75/75 Mbps
4.FIOS TV Ultimate HD
5.FiOS Digital Voice Unlimited
johnsmith987
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-04-2015

Re: Select HDMI: Amazon Fire TV Stick

Message 9 of 16
(142,366 Views)
1. Remove Fire TV Stick from TV HDMI Port, just make sure TV is off
2. Unplug power source from Fire TV
3. Wait 15 minutes
4. Turn on TV
5. Plug in power source to the Fire TV Stick then insert to prefer HDMI 1 or 2 or 3
6. Press any button on the Fire TV remote,wait 30 sec on each input until you see the picture on the screen.

I unplugged the set top box from the TV. Now I have a "dumb" tv monitor.

Then I followed the instructions you gave. Still no success. I have a "no signal" message on the tv screen.

Is there anything else you can recommend.

Predator
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎01-06-2015

Re: Select HDMI: Amazon Fire TV Stick

Message 10 of 16
(142,317 Views)

@johnsmith987 wrote:
1. Remove Fire TV Stick from TV HDMI Port, just make sure TV is off
2. Unplug power source from Fire TV
3. Wait 15 minutes
4. Turn on TV
5. Plug in power source to the Fire TV Stick then insert to prefer HDMI 1 or 2 or 3
6. Press any button on the Fire TV remote,wait 30 sec on each input until you see the picture on the screen.

I unplugged the set top box from the TV. Now I have a "dumb" tv monitor.

Then I followed the instructions you gave. Still no success. I have a "no signal" message on the tv screen.

Is there anything else you can recommend.


It may be defective!Did you try on any other TV?Also make sure TV set to same HDMI Port that Fire Stick connected.

1.Router: Quantum G1100 (Primary)2.Router :Nighthawk AC1900
3.Speed:75/75 Mbps
4.FIOS TV Ultimate HD
5.FiOS Digital Voice Unlimited
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title