Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get gifts fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same-day delivery.

Seriously LACKLUSTER DVR functionality

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-27-2010

Seriously LACKLUSTER DVR functionality

Message 1 of 19
(5,627 Views)

I've had a DVR with three different providers beginning around 2000 and I have to say that the one provided with my FIOS service is hands down the worst.  I realize that it is unlikely that any DVR will have all the desired features but I haven't found a single feature on this DVR that makes me go "WOW - that's really nice!"  So many convenient and logical features are missing.

 

First, with other DVRs/providers, I was able to find a listing in the GUIDE (now playing or near future), click on that listing and be able to search for future showings WITHOUT painfully and tediously having to enter the title of the show using the screen with all the letters and scrolling and selecting each letter to again spell out the title.    Also, while doing that, if the user accidentally clicks the LEFT arrow while in the LEFTMOST letter column, you are exited out of the search function and LOSE every thing already entered in the search screen and have to begin again - VERY frustrating.

  

 Second...when doing a one time (but non-manual) recording, there is no way to alter the stop time. When I want to record a hockey game which frequently runs past the scheduled stop time, I can't simply PAD that recording for 15-30 minutes, I HAVE to set up a MANUAL recording which is a much bigger effort and prone to errors.

 

Third...there is no saved search feature. I can use this if I am using the REMOTE DVR function on my PC but there should also be one on the DVR itself so that if the show or actor wasn't found this time, I can easily check it again in several days when the guide has additional shows in the schedule. This is very nice in late summer/early fall when the new TV shows are being advertised but are not yet in the schedule.

 

Fourth, not a DVR issue but ....the guide listings for NHL Center Ice games do not provide the network/broadcast info.  In other words, if the game is being broadcast on two channels (one with my teams commentators and one with the other teams network commentators), I have no way to determine which channel I want to record.

 

Lastly - also not a DVR issue but a HUGE annoyance considering...  being able to see Called ID info on the TV from every cable and dish provider but not from VERIZON - a MAJOR telecommunication player! -- is ridiculous. 

My frustration with the DVR functionality is actually making me think of going back to one of my past providers - I'm sure they would be willing to offer plenty of incentives.

18 REPLIES 18
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 371
Registered: ‎12-15-2009

Re: Seriously LACKLUSTER DVR functionality

Message 2 of 19
(5,613 Views)

-Caller ID is available on STBs and has been since IMG 1.7 (12/09). It's in the STB menu.

 

-You can pad a recording stop time by going into its settings and selecting "end ___ minutes late."

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎11-19-2008

Re: Seriously LACKLUSTER DVR functionality

Message 3 of 19
(5,608 Views)

I have IMG 1.7 but no caller ID on the TV.  I have VCA on the computer though

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-27-2010

Re: Seriously LACKLUSTER DVR functionality

Message 4 of 19
(5,568 Views)

 


@ekem015 wrote:

-Caller ID is available on STBs and has been since IMG 1.7 (12/09). It's in the STB menu.

 


 

I have a QIP 7216 and there is no option for Caller ID in the STB menu.  That's one thing that has bugged me since the day we got this unit.

 

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 371
Registered: ‎12-15-2009

Re: Seriously LACKLUSTER DVR functionality

Message 5 of 19
(5,553 Views)

It shouldn't matter what unit you have. If you have IMG 1.7 (see system information in menu), then caller ID should be available to you.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎11-19-2008

Re: Seriously LACKLUSTER DVR functionality

Message 6 of 19
(5,547 Views)

i checked again. I have 1.7 but no caller id

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎08-29-2009

Re: Seriously LACKLUSTER DVR functionality

Message 7 of 19
(5,488 Views)

Caller ID is available in very few areas.  TX, and some in the NE, but it's very limited...

Just because you have 1.7 does not automatically give you caller ID.  Belive me, I've had 1.7 since almost the beginning of the roll out (many months) and I still don't have caller ID.

 

 

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 371
Registered: ‎12-15-2009

Re: Seriously LACKLUSTER DVR functionality

Message 8 of 19
(5,468 Views)

I guess that explains it then.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-18-2009

Re: Seriously LACKLUSTER DVR functionality

Message 9 of 19
(5,467 Views)

cubalz, if you press the info button twice you should see a list tothe left where you cansee future showings without having to use the search function.

 

hubcap9

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎07-15-2009

Re: Seriously LACKLUSTER DVR functionality

Message 10 of 19
(5,466 Views)

An additional add to the lackluster functionality is the lack of true dual tuner swapping.  The "Last" button should toggle between the last 2 channels on the current tuner - not swap tuners.  There should be a separate button to swap from Tuner A to Tuner B.  This would allow one to pause programming on Tuner A, swap to Tuner B and channel surf to one's hearts content, and then swap back to Tuner A and resume from where programming was paused.

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.