Customers With Disabilities
 
quick menu

Set Top Box Going into Standby Mode On Its Own

SOLVED
Reply
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-28-2013

Set Top Box Going into Standby Mode On Its Own

Message 1 of 15 (27,841 Views)

Our FIOS set top box (Motorola 6200) has begun to go into standby mode on its own. This usually happens in the middle of the night  while I'm recording a program. The recording shows a pop-up message that indicates the the stb will go into standby mode unless an option is clicked. Of course, it goes into standby mode because no one is there to click.

 

This also occurred during the day while I was recording a program. The TV was on but I was in another room when it went into standby. 

 

How can I prevent the stb box from going into standby?

14 REPLIES
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 5,175
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Set Top Box Going into Standby Mode On Its Own

Message 2 of 15 (27,832 Views)

I do not have a 6200 STB, but on my 7232 DVR, the setting I had to change was:

 

Menu ==> Settings ==> Set-Top Box ==> Sleep Timer ==> Never

 

I imagine yours would be the same.

 

__________________________________
Justin
FiOS TV, 25/25 Internet, and Digital Voice user
QIP7232, QIP7100-P2, IMG 1.9.4
Keller, TX 76248 (VHO 1)

Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-28-2013

Re: Set Top Box Going into Standby Mode On Its Own

Message 3 of 15 (27,725 Views)

Thanks, Justin! I found that setting and made the change. It was showing 4 hours. Some evil demon must have set it at some time during the past two weeks just to irritate me! :-)

Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-09-2013

Re: Set Top Box Going into Standby Mode On Its Own

Message 4 of 15 (27,525 Views)

Thanks for posting this!

 

I just sent a set-top box back with this issue (and several other problems) and Verizon had no clue when I told them about the problem.

 

Then I just installed the new box they sent me and it was doing the same thing! So after reading your post I reset the sleep timer to NEVER. We'll see what happens now.

 

I am really surpirsed that the new 'default' is to shut down the box in 4 hours no matter what!

 

Kevin

Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-20-2013

Re: Set Top Box Going into Standby Mode On Its Own

Message 5 of 15 (27,223 Views)
Thanks Justin! We returned our set top box also and continued with same problem. You would think Verizon would figure it out by now!!
Silver Contributor I
Posts: 402
Registered: ‎07-07-2010

Re: Set Top Box Going into Standby Mode On Its Own

Message 6 of 15 (27,097 Views)

I suspect that Verizon did this on purpose. The change happened at the same time as an announced update on all 3 of my DVR's. This way it forces you to press the Menu button and look at the Verizon VOD promotions.

Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 5,175
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Set Top Box Going into Standby Mode On Its Own

Message 7 of 15 (27,088 Views)

GaryDoug wrote:

I suspect that Verizon did this on purpose. The change happened at the same time as an announced update on all 3 of my DVR's. This way it forces you to press the Menu button and look at the Verizon VOD promotions.


Well of course they did it on purpose. You don't think it just magically appeared all by itself do you? Smiley Very Happy My cynical guesses as to why Verizon implemented this change are a) they wanted to appear more "green" even though turning off the STB saves virtually no electricity, and/or b) this gives them a way to sort of measure when and how much TV programming people are actually watching because it is highly unlikely that anybody that is really watching a TV will leave it on the same channel for 4 hours.

 

I never see any VOD promotions at any time since I have the Promotions option under Television disabled. I suggest you do the same.

 

__________________________________
Justin
FiOS TV, 25/25 Internet, and Digital Voice user
QIP7232, QIP7100-P2, IMG 1.9.4
Keller, TX 76248 (VHO 1)

 

 

Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-23-2013

Re: Set Top Box Going into Standby Mode On Its Own

Message 8 of 15 (26,396 Views)

Thanks for the info I hope this fixes the standby I don't like the tv going off well I am gone for the dogs home waiting for me .as well as it is very annoying well I am watching tv

Silver Contributor III
Posts: 2,070
Registered: ‎08-07-2008
Location: Long Beach, California

Re: Set Top Box Going into Standby Mode On Its Own

Message 9 of 15 (26,374 Views)

GaryDoug wrote:

I suspect that Verizon did this on purpose. The change happened at the same time as an announced update on all 3 of my DVR's. This way it forces you to press the Menu button and look at the Verizon VOD promotions.


For the nth time, you do not have to see the promotions.  You can turn them off.

Silver Contributor I
Posts: 402
Registered: ‎07-07-2010

Re: Set Top Box Going into Standby Mode On Its Own

Message 10 of 15 (26,361 Views)

PJL wrote:

GaryDoug wrote:

I suspect that Verizon did this on purpose. The change happened at the same time as an announced update on all 3 of my DVR's. This way it forces you to press the Menu button and look at the Verizon VOD promotions.


For the nth time, you do not have to see the promotions.  You can turn them off.


I don't see why you feel it's necessary to be rude. Not all of us are watching everything you type with bated breath. This attitude problem is why I left a few years ago and only very rarely visit. You have a nice day, if you can.

 

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
 

My Verizon

  • Check Email
  • Add or Change Services
  • Suspend My Service
  • Manage Services

Support

Watch Fios