×

Switch Account

Set Top Box shutting off

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-02-2013

Re: Set Top Box shutting off

Message 11 of 24
(4,448 Views)

@ Nan2527, That you! This has been driving me crazy.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-08-2013

Re: Set Top Box shutting off

Message 12 of 24
(4,375 Views)

i also have been having a problem with my Set Top box shutting off, i just received a replacement one, should i try the Menu/Settings/TImer feature before i unplug the STB and put in the one Verizon sent me?

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-08-2013

Re: Set Top Box shutting off

Message 13 of 24
(4,347 Views)

just wanted to say thanks for that great suggestion, i talked on a live chat with a verizion customer and that  was never mentioned so now i can return the box they sent me. Smiley Happy

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-09-2013

Re: Set Top Box shutting off

Message 14 of 24
(4,326 Views)

Glad I found the suggestion to check the timer and to reset it to never. This has been driving me nuts for weeks.  This corresponded to the promotions upgrade that's under the Television setting.  Doesn't make sense that customer service wouldn't know about it.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-10-2013

Re: Set Top Box shutting off

Message 15 of 24
(4,298 Views)

I have same problem recently with all 3 of my boxes.  I suspect a bad software or firmware update.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-10-2013

Re: Set Top Box shutting off

Message 16 of 24
(4,251 Views)

This is the fix per my telcon with a Verizon Tec Rep

 

- Go to Menu..select Settings...then select Set Top Box... then select Select Sleep Timer...Set the sleep timer to "Never". 

 

Apparently the programmer who did the latest update had it set to 4 hours.  They definitely know about the problem now.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-13-2014

Re: Set Top Box shutting off

Message 17 of 24
(3,838 Views)

I had the problem with my DVR set top box turning off one in the evening and it ruined my taping of programs and it erased selectively all the programs on the DVR that I taped on that day.  I changed the sleep timer setting from 4 hours to NEVER. I still had the problem with the DVR set top box turning off around midnight. I phoned Verizon and described the problem. Somehow Verizon was able to fix the problem from their end. So the solution might not always be a change in the sleep timer setting. I read in the newspaper that the cable companies are vounteering a solution to the government to the problem that the set top boxes are energy hogs even when the TV is turned off. I believe inserting a sleep timer in the software was part of the cable companies solution without replacing all of the set top boxes. By the way, tonight I'm having trouble with one of my six set top boxes in that it keeps shutting off (going on stand by) every few hours. That box has no sleep timer program so I'll phone Verizon during the day tomorrow for a fix.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-18-2014

Re: Set Top Box shutting off

Message 18 of 24
(3,777 Views)

I am having the same issue, just started a few days ago and my sleep timer was set to never already.  Even more annoying, all the stations are lost for hours after each restart since it has to re-download them.

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎01-13-2011

Re: Set Top Box shutting off

Message 19 of 24
(3,727 Views)
Did you get it resolved? I changed my timer to Never, but it seems to get a signal every night around 7:00 that reboots the STB. I lose DVR schedule changes every time this happens.
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-04-2014

Re: Set Top Box shutting off

Message 20 of 24
(3,316 Views)

When I turn my tv off for the night, my set top box turns off automatically and when I turn my tv on, my stb has to reboot as is I'm just installing it for the first time...it's annoying because I'm trying to get upstairs to the tv from the downstairs tv  and I end up missing some programming due to having to wait for the stb to boot up.  I just 'upgraded' to Quantum...don't seem like an upgrade to me.  Trying to get tech help is of no use....they say the wait time is 8 minutes so I wait on the phone and then after about 7 minutes....."click" they hang up on me.  I miss Comcast...hate to say it but it's been almost 2 years with Vx and I thought Quantum would be comparable...it's not....yet.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.