×

Switch Account

Set top box keeps rebooting

Set top box keeps rebooting

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor pghphil
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-11-2018
Message 1 of 45
(16,651 Views)

Work up this morning to find one of my set top boxes constantly rebooting.  It reads 8.88.88 and then shuts off and starts again with the 8's.  I unplugged the box for a couple of minutes and no change in the box after it is plugged back in.

44 REPLIES 44
Highlighted
Copper Contributor dthela
Copper Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎01-13-2012
Message 2 of 45
(16,138 Views)

Box shuts down 8888 then you have to turn it back on and wait for download EVERY 15 minutes!

Highlighted
Contributor Ken_N
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-11-2018
Message 3 of 45
(16,385 Views)

I am having the same issue. All HD boxes in my home are continuously rebooting...

Highlighted
Contributor JimKatsios13
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-11-2018
Message 4 of 45
(16,523 Views)

I am having the same problems with all of my STBs. If I access the guide and try to scroll up or down that STB will reset. Sometimes it occurs the first time I hit the channel up or channels down button, sometimes the second or third time, but any HD STB, regardless of whether is a DVR or not go through this. If I don’t channel surf then it seems to be okay, but as soon as I try to scroll up or down, the reset begins. Extremely frustrating and now on hold for 35 minutes on top of it all. Just great!

Highlighted
Contributor Machomer
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-11-2018
Message 5 of 45
(16,362 Views)

Same here. Just started this evening. Unplugged the box for about 5 minutes, but the endless rebooting continues. 

Highlighted
Contributor Tbh143
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-11-2018
Message 6 of 45
(16,482 Views)

This is also happening to me. I hit the guide button or up and down in the guide and the box reboots. Just started tonight. Wasn't sure if it was remote but tried another and it still happened. Weird one. Checked to make sure all the cords we're sucure and they are fine.

Highlighted
Contributor pdubbb1
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-11-2018
Message 7 of 45
(16,178 Views)

my settop boxes keep rebooting when i use the guide.  been happenening for the past 30 minutes

Highlighted
Contributor pdubbb1
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-11-2018
Message 8 of 45
(16,480 Views)

happening to me too

Highlighted
Contributor njnj
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-11-2018
Message 9 of 45
(16,183 Views)

July 11, 9 pm EST, DVR box keeps rebooting over and over, tried unplugging, restarting as website suggested, didn't work. Current wait time for customer support on the phone is reported at between 4 and 6 hours. Chat support apears to be overloaded and isn't taking new customers. Anyone else experiencing this? 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor fransley
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-11-2018
Message 10 of 45
(16,446 Views)

As soon as I try to scroll through the guide my box reboots. Has anyone gotten an answer from Verizon? 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.