Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

Set top box keeps rebooting

Reply
lkw
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-05-2018

Re: Set Top Box Keeps Rebooting On Its Own

Message 21 of 45
(6,719 Views)

Same problem on my dvr tonight.    I've been on the fence about dropping verizon, this is pushing me over, the fact people can't even get customer service.  They keep providing less, with no decreases in rates.  First they discontinue providing email and port us over to AOL (which was bought by them but mind you, they get out of "supporting" it unless you pay a monthly support fee. to AOL.   I let my accounts go to AOL for a while thinking I'd transfer to something else when I had time, but low and behold, no cancel button, just a note that they're working on it, but never showed up.  I actually had to file a complaint with the FCC, because without paying support, you can't even call them, and someone from AOL/Verizon then contacted me about the complaint and cancelled my emails.  I also just recently got a letter they were taking away cinemax and it would be available at an additional cost now.  Now these problems and everything I'm reading here, hello Direct Tv.  If you're a Costco member, they have a good Direct Tv deal.

Scottman1
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-11-2018

Re: Set top box keeps rebooting

Message 22 of 45
(6,708 Views)

Same thing here on both boxes whenever I hit the favorites button or the guide on the remote. So annoying.

Tbh143
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-11-2018

Re: Set Top Box Keeps Rebooting On Its Own

Message 23 of 45
(6,736 Views)

I'm think of cutting it all to get expect for internet and just use streaming services like Netflix and Amazon.

njmacuser
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎01-14-2012

Re: Set Top Box Keeps Rebooting On Its Own

Message 24 of 45
(6,725 Views)

It's happening to me also.  Whenever I bring up the guide to choose a channel, the DVR reboots.  No wonder the online chat is too busy to respond.

njmacuser
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎01-14-2012

Re: DVR BOX REBOOT

Message 25 of 45
(6,662 Views)

It started happening to us also tonight.  They must have pushed out a poorly tested upgrade.

PAPPY20
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-11-2018

Re: Set Top Box Keeps Rebooting On Its Own

Message 26 of 45
(6,684 Views)

I'm having the same problem............rebooted 6 times in last hour. I give up.

Ted3
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-11-2018

Re: DVR BOX REBOOT

Message 27 of 45
(6,654 Views)

I am in agreement with these folks. my box started rebooting everytime I changed channels or accessed the guide or both. It started around 9pm EST july 11th, 2018. If I stay on one channel, I am fine. As soon as I change a channel, the whole device reboots itself. I would call this an outage---hence the lines all full and wait times are 4-6 hours. Verizon should announce this as an issue with updates every 2 hours to keep their customers posted. I guess it is Netflix tonight.

 

fransley
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-11-2018

Re: Set Top Box Keeps Rebooting On Its Own

Message 28 of 45
(6,656 Views)

I'm in Levittown, think it's regional?

JimKatsios13
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-11-2018

Re: Set Top Box Keeps Rebooting On Its Own

Message 29 of 45
(6,656 Views)

One hour and 36 minutes and no end in sight!  My first call tomorrow is to Comcast. The fact that Verizon thinks it’s okay to have such extreme hold times with no response is just unreal. Where’s my escalation to a live body?  This sucks

sirtag
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-01-2011

Re: Set Top Box Keeps Rebooting On Its Own

Message 30 of 45
(6,643 Views)

From @VerizonSupport RE: STB Reboot Issue (in Doylestown) . . .

 

"There is an issue that we are working on. We hope to have it straightened out as quickly as possible. ^RMD"

 

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title