Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

Setting basement

SOLVED
Reply
Austin316
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-27-2011

Setting basement

Message 1 of 5
(650 Views)
My mom is redoing the basement over and wants to add an additional set top box downstairs. The electrician is setting a cat/coaxial outlet but needed to know if he should run the coaxial to the outlet or does Verizon need to come in and do that. Does anyone know? Any help is appreciated.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
prisaz
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: Setting basement

Message 2 of 5
(645 Views)

@Austin316 wrote:
My mom is redoing the basement over and wants to add an additional set top box downstairs. The electrician is setting a cat/coaxial outlet but needed to know if he should run the coaxial to the outlet or does Verizon need to come in and do that. Does anyone know? Any help is appreciated.

The electrician can do it. Have them use RG-6 quad shielded cable for best results. Run the cable from the Verizon Splitter to the new location. Verizon would probably not fish through walls, and if it is a remodel, it is better to have everything hidden nicely with a good quality cable. If the electrician is running network cable it would be more efficient to have it all done at one time.$$

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
prisaz
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: Setting basement

Message 2 of 5
(646 Views)

@Austin316 wrote:
My mom is redoing the basement over and wants to add an additional set top box downstairs. The electrician is setting a cat/coaxial outlet but needed to know if he should run the coaxial to the outlet or does Verizon need to come in and do that. Does anyone know? Any help is appreciated.

The electrician can do it. Have them use RG-6 quad shielded cable for best results. Run the cable from the Verizon Splitter to the new location. Verizon would probably not fish through walls, and if it is a remodel, it is better to have everything hidden nicely with a good quality cable. If the electrician is running network cable it would be more efficient to have it all done at one time.$$

View solution in original post

Austin316
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-27-2011

Re: Setting basement

Message 3 of 5
(642 Views)
And then she can just order an additional converter box and do the setup ourselves?
prisaz
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: Setting basement

Message 4 of 5
(640 Views)

Yes it would be a self install order for the Set Top Box or Digital Video Recorder. Just connect the box, and follow the activation instructions. It would be shipped UPS.

 

There are some locations where you can call and just go pick one up. But call and check for availability first. If you call the reqular Verizon number, and or order online, I have found you will not be able to place the order at the store. So if you wish to pick one up at the store, call them first.

 

FiOS Store Locations

http://www22.verizon.com/ResidentialHelp/FiOSTV/General+Support/Account+Issues/QuestionsOne/84843.ht...

 

Austin316
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-27-2011

Re: Setting basement

Message 5 of 5
(633 Views)
Great. Thanks so much for your help.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title