×

Switch Account

Size of FIOS box in basement?

Size of FIOS box in basement?

Reply
Contributor c__p
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-17-2013
Message 1 of 7
(2,094 Views)

I'm getting FIOS installed soon.   We have telephone poles in my neighborhhood.  The current Comcast line comes into the basement & into the main splitter.    I'm trying to find out the size of the FIOS box that the fiber goes into with the coaxial output so I can figure out where it can fit.  I don't know if they're all one standard size.   thanks

6 REPLIES 6
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 628
Registered: ‎06-06-2014
Message 2 of 7
(2,086 Views)

@c__p wrote:

I'm getting FIOS installed soon.   We have telephone poles in my neighborhhood.  The current Comcast line comes into the basement & into the main splitter.    I'm trying to find out the size of the FIOS box that the fiber goes into with the coaxial output so I can figure out where it can fit.  I don't know if they're all one standard size.   thanks


I assume you are talking about the ONT (optical network terminal). There isn't one standard size as they use different models. They have ones for indoor/outdoor and just outdoor. They have all in one units with the battery backup and ont together or seperate. I have an all in one in my garage where as a relative of mine has their ont outside and the bbu inside.

It all depends on what they are using in your area and where it will go. The installer/tech will figure that all out. Just to give you a rough estimate though I'd say a 1 1/2 x 1' space.

 

Contributor c__p
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-17-2013
Message 3 of 7
(2,082 Views)

thanks

Gold Contributor V Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,357
Registered: ‎05-16-2009
Message 4 of 7
(2,056 Views)

If you can fit it in "inside"  INSIST ON IT.

I did and they mounted everything inside the attached  garage.

 

 

Tom
QIP 7100 1,Bose SOLO,QIP 7216 P2, iPad 2 WiFi,iPhone SE
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 628
Registered: ‎06-06-2014
Message 5 of 7
(2,031 Views)

@TomH309 wrote:

If you can fit it in "inside"  INSIST ON IT.

I did and they mounted everything inside the attached  garage.

 

 


I agree with this.....but although it will help with weather it sure wont stop a lightning charge from getting to it. Mine got fried the other day and had to be replaced. lol

 

Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,325
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
Message 6 of 7
(2,014 Views)

@SinCara wrote:

@TomH309 wrote:

If you can fit it in "inside"  INSIST ON IT.

I did and they mounted everything inside the attached  garage.

 

 


I agree with this.....but although it will help with weather it sure wont stop a lightning charge from getting to it. Mine got fried the other day and had to be replaced. lol

 


I have mine in the basement and the AC is run off a UPS.  All appendages crossed but I have never had an issue with lightning and the added benefit that the TV and Internet don't go down during a short power power loss (all my other FiOS equipment is also on a UPS so I don't lose DVR recordings most of the time).

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Contributor dgburns
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-26-2014
Message 7 of 7
(1,988 Views)

@Keyboards wrote:

I have mine in the basement and the AC is run off a UPS.  All appendages crossed but I have never had an issue with lightning and the added benefit that the TV and Internet don't go down during a short power power loss (all my other FiOS equipment is also on a UPS so I don't lose DVR recordings most of the time).


It's important to point out what some folks might miss, in that you state you have all your other FIOS equipment on UPS.  The Verizon BBU will keep the ONT running through short outages but that only keeps (on it's own) voice phone service operating.  If your Verizon router isn't on a UPS, internet and TV (if you have the Quantum VMS, which must have the router in order to work) will be down until power is restored.

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.