quick menu

Slow Set Top Box Responses New Fios Quantum Box

Slow Set Top Box Responses New Fios Quantum Box

Reply
Contributor jvmendoza
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-23-2014
Message 1 of 98
(17,434 Views)

Just wondering how many out there have experienced slow response times from the remote to the new Quantum settop boxs. Is this a known bug and will there be a patch anytime soon? 

97 REPLIES 97
Contributor jabredehorn
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-23-2014
Message 2 of 98
(17,431 Views)

Yes!  I have noticed the same problem.  Very annoying to click 5 times only to have to wait for things to happen on screen.

Contributor splff3000
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-06-2013
Message 3 of 98
(17,353 Views)

I have experienced the same. In fact, that was my very reason for coming here. This is very annoying and is almost a deal breaker for me. Any word on an update for this? 

Gold Contributor II Gold Contributor II
Gold Contributor II
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012
Message 4 of 98
(17,312 Views)

In general, NO.  Many functions are actually faster, with some, e.g. jumping ahead to next week, much slower.

Contributor Rlr1231
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-01-2014
Message 5 of 98
(17,286 Views)
Yes, I'm having this problem with 2 of my boxes. Actually now it will not play live tv. I have tried the reboot several times.
Contributor j9o
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-04-2014
Message 6 of 98
(17,222 Views)

I too am having the same issue...  While I love that I can now reord more than two shows, when I try to retrieve recorded show list sometimes it just hangs and never loads list.  I hope they are planning to fix this issue soon.

Platinum Contributor I Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 5,175
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
Message 7 of 98
(17,214 Views)

@j9o wrote:

I too am having the same issue...  While I love that I can now reord more than two shows, when I try to retrieve recorded show list sometimes it just hangs and never loads list.  I hope they are planning to fix this issue soon.


I have had Quantum TV for 4 months now, have never, ever experienced that. Yes, sometimes the user interface is somewhat slow, it is erratic with no pattern that I can figure out. But to not display a list in a reasonable time, no, not on the VMS itself or either client.

 

I suggest you shut down each of your boxes and then pull the power for 10-15 seconds, then plug them back in and restart them. Don't know if that will help, but a couple of times when my boxes had seemingly gotten slower than they had been, pulling the power seemed to improve things considerably (that was back in the first month or so, have not had to do it again since then).

 

Hope this helps.

 

__________________________________
Justin
FiOS TV: Extreme HD, Internet: 50/25, Digital Voice
VMS Enhanced Service: 1 server, 2 clients
Keller, TX 76248 (VHO 1)

Contributor ivmost
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-10-2014
Message 8 of 98
(16,967 Views)

I have been having very slow responses on setting program records, starting a recorded program (i.e. 15-20 seconds), sometimes search has nothing to search (but eventually comes back). Also, when doing skip ahead (30 seconds) on a recorded show it often ends up going backward and keeps returning to that same spot no mattter how many times I press the skip ahead. If I stop the program and then resume the program, then the skip ahead works again (for a little while). My DVR is the only cable box in the house.

Contributor RonTheRef
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-18-2014
Message 9 of 98
(16,903 Views)

I hav all these problems on both my DVRs

Copper Contributor tightlines2
Copper Contributor
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎08-28-2008
Message 10 of 98
(16,838 Views)
It's sluggish - there's no denying it - as I patiently wait for a software push which improves the performance.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.



Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
 

My Verizon

  • Add or Change Plan
  • Suspend My Service
  • Apps

Support

Watch Fios