×

Switch Account

Slow Set Top Box Responses New Fios Quantum Box

Slow Set Top Box Responses New Fios Quantum Box

Reply
Contributor SlowFiOS
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-15-2014
Message 31 of 98
(3,908 Views)

I am having ALL of the issues mentioned above. Especially the sluggish channel number entree. It will show the first two digits and then double the last and takes me to an annoying HOA channel that isn't active. It also delays after hitting play while fast forwarding or rewinding. Recording a show, or god forbid a series with options, takes a good 15 seconds for all responses to load. Surfing down the guide stalls every 3 to 4 clicks and skips. EXTREMELY FRUSTRATING!! Especially looking at what Verizon charges for this service! I am usually very patient with technogoly as I know how much is really involved to deliver such services but this is a downright botch in OS. It wasn't always like this though. I was very happy with the service originally. It wasn't until about a month ago this started happening and it has only gotten worse. I fear for what it might be like a month from now. Has anybody gotten a response or at least an acknowledgement from Verizon on this issue? This needs to be fixed or I will cancel ALL of my Verizon services immediately...

Contributor BillyBeer
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-15-2014
Message 32 of 98
(3,893 Views)

You can add one more customer to the list with all these symptoms.  Verizon needs to get on the ball here and fix this stuff.

Contributor dagills
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-03-2014
Message 33 of 98
(3,861 Views)

Yep, add me in. Slow. Unresponsive. Some "Skip 30 seconds forward" commands sent result in it skipping BACK. 20-30 seconds for it to respond to a simple record request.

 

Frustrating.

Contributor Spotman
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-19-2012
Message 34 of 98
(3,824 Views)

Another one with all the slow problems.  Any answer from Verizon on a fix?

Copper Contributor NHYankee
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-13-2011
Message 35 of 98
(3,801 Views)

Add me to the list of slowbees. Press Record in the guide and wait 30+ seconds for Record symbol meanwhile guide is frozen. Press Record again to add selection to Series list same 30+ sec wait/guide frozen. Select Play from Recorded list and wait 15-30 seconds for the show to begin. The crazy thing is it used to be better than it is right now. As a former product development engineer I find it unusual for a product to get worse with time, usally updates inprove the performance not make it worse. I need to check Firmware Release version to make sure I have the latest but I suspect I do and that is the cause of the slowdown.

Copper Contributor NHYankee
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-13-2011
Message 36 of 98
(3,774 Views)

After posting yesterday I started watching on my set with DVR/Server and the video on the selected channel kept freezing. Switching to another channel then back would recover only to have it freeze again. I pressed Menu and selected Top Support Tools/Reboot STB/Ok. After the reboot the freezing was gone, the Record and Record Series response time was less than 5 seconds and the playback time was short again too.  I noted after the reboot the "Record indicator" (Red Dot) in the guide was different too. I'm just guessing but the reboot may have installed/enabled downloaded software changes in the same manner as the required restart after a MS Windows update on your computer. I know Verizon can do remote reboots too but may not for fear of interrupting something the user is doing?  For those with slow response times I suggest you give this the Reboot STB a try, It only takes a couple of minutes and nothing will be lost even if it doesn't fix your current issue(s). I plan to do a reboot whenever I have issues, as well as weekly even when I don't, just in case something has been fixed or improved.

 

Copper Contributor 900at
Copper Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎02-08-2013
Message 37 of 98
(3,715 Views)

Add me to the list too.  Lag on the remote / DVR is bad and getting worse.  Selecting a channel or attempting any menu selections is not fun. Wife said it would be faster if the batteries in the remote were dead.  Not far off. 

Contributor coult
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-01-2010
Message 38 of 98
(3,710 Views)

I have had some slow response as well.  I just got the boxes a few weeks ago.  So far it has not been too bad.  I like the idea of being able to record and watch on multiple tvs, but if the issues get worse I would consider switching back as well.

Contributor Lowb
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-02-2013
Message 39 of 98
(3,692 Views)
Add me to the list..... Sad when you pay to upgrade from the old dvr only to get worse service. This is a result of inadequate software and hardware testing. I literally hit the record button for a show and wait 15 to 20 seconds for it to come back.
Copper Contributor YankeesFan
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎04-15-2011
Message 40 of 98
(3,684 Views)

Same here.  It's getting really annoying.  I select a channel for example 504 and 50 comes up or 54 or sometimes nothing.  What is the respone from Verizon?  Do they acknowledge we are having issues.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.