×

Switch Account

Strange CableCARD problem

Strange CableCARD problem

Reply
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎01-02-2009
Message 1 of 9
(6,165 Views)
This is a new FIOS TV install (4 days ago). I have one Verizon STB and two Tivo HD's, each with two CableCARDs. There are two specific channels that come through on the Tivo's with ONLY audio and NO video, whereas on the Verizon box they come through just fine....does anyone have any ideas???  Verizon wants to send out a tech to "check the signals" but I'm holding off on that....IMO if it was a "signal" problem, the Verizon STB would have the same problem....   I've checked for HDCP issues by switching both TiVos to component cables and disconnecting the HDMI and rebooting, but still have the problem.  The Verizon techs have "reloaded" the CableCARDs several times, without success.
8 REPLIES 8
Highlighted
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 585
Registered: ‎10-22-2008
Message 2 of 9
(6,130 Views)

@Yankee_Fan wrote:
This is a new FIOS TV install (4 days ago). I have one Verizon STB and two Tivo HD's, each with two CableCARDs. There are two specific channels that come through on the Tivo's with ONLY audio and NO video, whereas on the Verizon box they come through just fine....does anyone have any ideas???  Verizon wants to send out a tech to "check the signals" but I'm holding off on that....IMO if it was a "signal" problem, the Verizon STB would have the same problem....   I've checked for HDCP issues by switching both TiVos to component cables and disconnecting the HDMI and rebooting, but still have the problem.  The Verizon techs have "reloaded" the CableCARDs several times, without success.

What channels are these?  When posting, it's always a good idea to be as specific as possible.

 

And what kind of TV do you have?   And output mode do you have set in Settings -> Video -> Output format?  Try setting the TivoHD to fixed 1080i.  It is possible your TivoHD is set to native or hybrid and your TV doesn't support one particular video format.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎01-02-2009
Message 3 of 9
(6,121 Views)

KenAF wrote: 

What channels are these?  When posting, it's always a good idea to be as specific as possible.

 

And what kind of TV do you have?   And output mode do you have set in Settings -> Video -> Output format?  Try setting the TivoHD to fixed 1080i.  It is possible your TivoHD is set to native or hybrid and your TV doesn't support one particular video format.


 

Channels 1620 and 1685 (both on the Spanish language package).  The TiVos are  set to output 1080i fixed...that's one of the first things I checked.

Message Edited by Yankee_Fan on 01-12-2009 08:26 PM
Highlighted
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 585
Registered: ‎10-22-2008
Message 4 of 9
(6,105 Views)

@Yankee_Fan wrote:

KenAF wrote: 

What channels are these?  When posting, it's always a good idea to be as specific as possible.

 

And what kind of TV do you have?   And output mode do you have set in Settings -> Video -> Output format?  Try setting the TivoHD to fixed 1080i.  It is possible your TivoHD is set to native or hybrid and your TV doesn't support one particular video format.


 

Channels 1620 and 1685 (both on the Spanish language package).  The TiVos are  set to output 1080i fixed...that's one of the first things I checked.


If you get all channels but two, it wouldn't be a signal issue, nor would it be a problem with your CableCard.

 

I suspect Verizon simply forgot to [properly] map those two channels for customers with the Spanish language package and CableCards.  This would be a configuration error that would affect all customers using CableCards in a third-party device like a TV or TiVo.  It would not affect Verizon's own boxes.

 

I had some similar problems on Comcast right after they moved a lot of channels around on their system to make space for new channels, but these were all corrected after a day or two as people called to complain.  If very few CableCard users subscribe to those channels, or watch those two channels, it is possible that no one else complained, or the complaint never found the right person.

 

You might file a report on Verizon Direct and ask Verizon to check its CableCard configuration on 1620 and 1685.  Or post a new topic to this forum saying that 1620 and 1685 aren't available to users with CableCards.

Message Edited by KenAF on 01-13-2009 03:22 AM
If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎01-02-2009
Message 5 of 9
(6,076 Views)
Ok, pardon my ignorance but what is Verizon Direct?
Highlighted
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 585
Registered: ‎10-22-2008
Message 6 of 9
(6,072 Views)

@Yankee_Fan wrote:
Ok, pardon my ignorance but what is Verizon Direct?

It's another forum where Verizon employees try to address customer problems.

 

http://www.dslreports.com/forum/vzdirect

 

All postings made there are only visible to Verizon.  With any post, you need to include your customer account number so they can identify you.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
Highlighted
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,340
Registered: ‎10-13-2008
Message 7 of 9
(6,042 Views)

@KenAF wrote:

@Yankee_Fan wrote:
Ok, pardon my ignorance but what is Verizon Direct?

It's another forum where Verizon employees try to address customer problems.

 

http://www.dslreports.com/forum/vzdirect

 

All postings made there are only visible to Verizon.  With any post, you need to include your customer account number so they can identify you.


 

we're taking care of ya right now and no need to post any type of account info I'm trying to figure out this problem.......is anyone else with cablecard config having this problem?
Highlighted
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 428
Registered: ‎10-11-2008
Message 8 of 9
(5,878 Views)
Any update on this?
Highlighted
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 585
Registered: ‎10-22-2008
Message 9 of 9
(5,854 Views)

@Provider7 wrote:
Any update on this?

He posted another thread and got it fixed, I believe.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.