×

Switch Account

Surround sound doesn't work on the HD channels

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-22-2010

Surround sound doesn't work on the HD channels

Message 1 of 10
(2,319 Views)

For some reason the surround sound doesn't work on the HD channels, we have to switch it to straight stereo.  What is the problem?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 273
Registered: ‎11-03-2013

Re: Surround sound doesn't work on the HD channels

Message 8 of 10
(2,234 Views)

@mary333 wrote:

Still no voices when HD is on


Since the above did not work, your situation sure sounds like an issue with your receiver with the encoding. I unfortunatly can't help with that. Their might be someone on here that might reply, but it might be a good idea to call the manufacturer of the receiver and see if they can troubleshoot some things for you.

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
Highlighted
Silver Contributor I
Silver Contributor I
Posts: 395
Registered: ‎11-09-2013

Re: Surround sound doesn't work on the HD channels

Message 2 of 10
(2,316 Views)

Maybe you dont have a surround system!  Just joking. You are going to have to give a lot more details to get any good help.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-22-2010

Re: Surround sound doesn't work on the HD channels

Message 3 of 10
(2,312 Views)

We have a Yamaha AV receiver that has various surround selections.  It is connected to the DVR via R/L auto.  The TV is connected via HDMI.  It's not just that we are not getting surround but you cannot hear the voices if the stereo is set to anything other then straight Stereo.  If I tune to the non HD channel of the same network (2, 4, 7...) it works, that is we hear the voices. 

 

Our stereo has a simulates surround but that does not work on the HD channels either.

Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 273
Registered: ‎11-03-2013

Re: Surround sound doesn't work on the HD channels

Message 4 of 10
(2,299 Views)

There's a few things you can try.

 

Go into your dvr or stb menu and go down to settings then over to audio then:

 

1. Go to set top box volume and turn it up all of the way

2. Go to audio format and make sure its set to surround

If neither of these work go to dynamic range and if its set to Heavy set it to none

 

Report back if any of it worked or didn't work.

 

 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-22-2010

Re: Surround sound doesn't work on the HD channels

Message 5 of 10
(2,262 Views)

Ok, I tried all three things and still no voices on the HD channels, hear the music but no voices.  I also re-booted the dvr a couple of tines

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-22-2010

Re: Surround sound doesn't work on the HD channels

Message 6 of 10
(2,259 Views)

P.S. The show that is on is being broadcast in dolby,  The comercial just came on the voices are coming through. 

Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-22-2010

Re: Surround sound doesn't work on the HD channels

Message 7 of 10
(2,240 Views)

Still no voices when HD is on

Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 273
Registered: ‎11-03-2013

Re: Surround sound doesn't work on the HD channels

Message 8 of 10
(2,235 Views)

@mary333 wrote:

Still no voices when HD is on


Since the above did not work, your situation sure sounds like an issue with your receiver with the encoding. I unfortunatly can't help with that. Their might be someone on here that might reply, but it might be a good idea to call the manufacturer of the receiver and see if they can troubleshoot some things for you.

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-22-2010

Re: Surround sound doesn't work on the HD channels

Message 9 of 10
(2,185 Views)

thanks

Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 273
Registered: ‎11-03-2013

Re: Surround sound doesn't work on the HD channels

Message 10 of 10
(2,178 Views)

What cable or cables are you using to hook the receiver up to the dvr? Are you using a optical digital, coaxial digital or are you using audio wires (red/white or composite) ?

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.