Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you switch and bring your phone.

Switching from Enhanced to Premium

Reply
tward392
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎07-18-2018

Switching from Enhanced to Premium

Message 1 of 9
(1,938 Views)

Have a VMS1100 with the Enhanced DVR service.

 

I would like to have more space, does switching to Premium mean that you have to change DVRS which means you lose the recordings?

 

Can we just add an eSATA or USB external drive?

 

Don't think I need to record 12 shows at once, might be nice, but with 6 I don't run into many conflicts, and when I do I can usually move one recording to a later time.  So more space is probably the only thing I am looking for....

 

Thanks

8 REPLIES 8
tward392
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎07-18-2018

Re: Switching from Enhanced to Premium

Message 2 of 9
(1,918 Views)

This link from my account seems outdated:

 

https://www.verizon.com/fiostv/myservices/members/DvrExpansion.aspx

 

CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,978
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Switching from Enhanced to Premium

Message 3 of 9
(1,885 Views)

Switching to premium gives you a second VMS.

Keep in mind that if a VMS dies, you lose everything on it.

 


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
tward392
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎07-18-2018

Re: Switching from Enhanced to Premium

Message 4 of 9
(1,838 Views)

Can external hard drives be used yet?  If yes, is there a list of supported drives?

 

Thanks.

Edg1
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,956
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Switching from Enhanced to Premium

Message 5 of 9
(1,825 Views)

External hard drives are not supported on VMS. If you get Premium each VMS has 1 TB hard drive. 

 

tward392
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎07-18-2018

Re: Switching from Enhanced to Premium

Message 6 of 9
(1,737 Views)

@CRobGauth wrote:

Switching to premium gives you a second VMS.

Keep in mind that if a VMS dies, you lose everything on it.

 


I understand that.  I've searched but haven't found anything.  How does a 2nd VMS get hooked up?  Does it replace one of the Clients I currently have?

Edg1
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,956
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Switching from Enhanced to Premium

Message 7 of 9
(1,734 Views)

Either. It can replace a client or can be added in a new location. Each VMS will support up to 4 clients. 

toulouse416
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-18-2019

Re: Switching from Enhanced to Premium

Message 8 of 9
(1,259 Views)

I have this same question because I need more space, but I don't want to lose all the recordings on my current box. I'm not great with all the technical terms so I couldn't figure out if this was actually answered, or just talked about. If I switch from Enhanced to Premium will I need a new box?

Edg1
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,956
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Switching from Enhanced to Premium

Message 9 of 9
(1,247 Views)

@toulouse416 wrote:

I have this same question because I need more space, but I don't want to lose all the recordings on my current box. I'm not great with all the technical terms so I couldn't figure out if this was actually answered, or just talked about. If I switch from Enhanced to Premium will I need a new box?


Yes you will get new box. It won't be replacing your current one with the recordings that will stay in place. You will just get a second VMS1100 which is the bigger one. That one is the DVR and it holds the recordings. 

Basically you will take one of the small ones out and connect a second VMS1100 in it's place. 

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title