Switching from Enhanced to Premium

Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎07-18-2018

Switching from Enhanced to Premium

Message 1 of 9
(1,595 Views)

Have a VMS1100 with the Enhanced DVR service.

 

I would like to have more space, does switching to Premium mean that you have to change DVRS which means you lose the recordings?

 

Can we just add an eSATA or USB external drive?

 

Don't think I need to record 12 shows at once, might be nice, but with 6 I don't run into many conflicts, and when I do I can usually move one recording to a later time.  So more space is probably the only thing I am looking for....

 

Thanks

8 REPLIES 8
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎07-18-2018

Re: Switching from Enhanced to Premium

Message 2 of 9
(1,575 Views)

This link from my account seems outdated:

 

https://www.verizon.com/fiostv/myservices/members/DvrExpansion.aspx

 

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,910
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Switching from Enhanced to Premium

Message 3 of 9
(1,542 Views)

Switching to premium gives you a second VMS.

Keep in mind that if a VMS dies, you lose everything on it.

 


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎07-18-2018

Re: Switching from Enhanced to Premium

Message 4 of 9
(1,495 Views)

Can external hard drives be used yet?  If yes, is there a list of supported drives?

 

Thanks.

Highlighted
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,881
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Switching from Enhanced to Premium

Message 5 of 9
(1,482 Views)

External hard drives are not supported on VMS. If you get Premium each VMS has 1 TB hard drive. 

 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎07-18-2018

Re: Switching from Enhanced to Premium

Message 6 of 9
(1,394 Views)

@CRobGauth wrote:

Switching to premium gives you a second VMS.

Keep in mind that if a VMS dies, you lose everything on it.

 


I understand that.  I've searched but haven't found anything.  How does a 2nd VMS get hooked up?  Does it replace one of the Clients I currently have?

Highlighted
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,881
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Switching from Enhanced to Premium

Message 7 of 9
(1,391 Views)

Either. It can replace a client or can be added in a new location. Each VMS will support up to 4 clients. 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-18-2019

Re: Switching from Enhanced to Premium

Message 8 of 9
(916 Views)

I have this same question because I need more space, but I don't want to lose all the recordings on my current box. I'm not great with all the technical terms so I couldn't figure out if this was actually answered, or just talked about. If I switch from Enhanced to Premium will I need a new box?

Highlighted
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,881
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Switching from Enhanced to Premium

Message 9 of 9
(904 Views)

@toulouse416 wrote:

I have this same question because I need more space, but I don't want to lose all the recordings on my current box. I'm not great with all the technical terms so I couldn't figure out if this was actually answered, or just talked about. If I switch from Enhanced to Premium will I need a new box?


Yes you will get new box. It won't be replacing your current one with the recordings that will stay in place. You will just get a second VMS1100 which is the bigger one. That one is the DVR and it holds the recordings. 

Basically you will take one of the small ones out and connect a second VMS1100 in it's place. 

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.