×

Switch Account

TV Guide is not in widescreen format

TV Guide is not in widescreen format

Reply
Contributor Anemone1
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-21-2014
Message 1 of 15
(14,194 Views)

I have a QIP6416-1 set top box.  As of last night at ~7 pm, the TV guide was displayed in widescreen format.  Sometime between 7 and 8 pm, the TV guide went to a 4:3 format, with black bars on the sides.  There wasn't any software update, and I didn't change any settings (to my knowledge).  I have unplugged and rebooted the set top box several times, tried the In Home Agent, checked all video and channel guide settings to no avail.

 

Is there a setting that I'm not aware of that needs to be change, or is my set top box fried?  I've had it at least a year (probably longer), and it has always displayed the guide in widescreen until last night. 

14 REPLIES 14
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012
Message 2 of 15
(14,158 Views)

PERMANENT RESTRICTION caused by the hardware.  Its actually always a SD version that may be sent widescreen if the last thing you viewed was a SD and/or HD channel (don't have one, so I don't know which one shows it incorrectly)

 

If you want the HD widescreen guide you need a Motorola 7xxx or a Cisco box.

Contributor Anemone1
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-21-2014
Message 3 of 15
(14,149 Views)

No, this is not true at all.  I have had this box for I think 2 years now.  It has always displayed the channel guide in widescreen format, with 150 minutes worth of programming showing, no matter whether I was last watchin a HD or SD channel.  It now shows only 90 minutes worth of programming, no matter whether I last watched a HD or SD channel.

 

After reading through more forum posts and talking with some other people at work, I have determined that the change in format is actually due to a software update that Verizon pushed out to the STBs in our area earlier this week.  Everyone I've talked to that this has happened to is quite unhappy with the change.  Not only that, but in addition to the very annoying "welcome" screen that we've been getting upon turning on the STB that has adds, "Fios specials," etc. that you have to press "OK" to exit to actually watch TV (or wait half a minute), when I did that last night a ballon appeared in the lower right of the screen over the program saying "Upgrade to FIOS Quantum!"  Unbelievable.  I don't watch TV all that much, but when I watch it, I want to watch it and not see interminable Verizon adds.

Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 333
Registered: ‎02-14-2012
Message 4 of 15
(14,134 Views)

You can disable the welcome screen.

 

Menu > Settings > Television > Promotions > Disable

 

You can also check a few settings to see if the guide can be fixed since a lot of times when an update is pushed some settings are reset or changed.

 

Menu > Settings > Television > Preferred Guide > Make sure full guide is checked.

 

Also check Menu > Settings > Video Settings > Video Format. make sure that's set to 16:9

Then go back to tv type and make sure thats set correctly as well.

Silver Contributor I
Silver Contributor I
Posts: 395
Registered: ‎11-09-2013
Message 5 of 15
(14,078 Views)

Menu > Settings > Video setting > graphic setting

This is the settings for the menus. Make sure it is set to HD.

Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012
Message 6 of 15
(14,076 Views)

@hlppls wrote:

Menu > Settings > Video setting > graphic setting

This is the settings for the menus. Make sure it is set to HD.


The 6xxx models do not support the HD graphic.  As I previously said a Permanent hardware restriction.

Contributor Anemone1
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-21-2014
Message 7 of 15
(14,018 Views)

This can't be a hardware restriction, unless it is one that Verizon just pushed through their last software update.  I have had this same model box since I signed up for FIOS (at least 3 years now), and until last week the channel guide was always, always, always in widescreen format.  This change in format did not happen until Jan 19 - while I was watching TV no less.  I'm not the only one in the area that this happened to either.  I have verfied with several of my employees that have FIOS that their channel guide also changed format.   This was definitely due to a software update on Verizon's part.  If it's a "hardware restriction" then it is one created by Verizon in their last software update to get customers to pay the $50 to upgrade their boxes.  I found the much cheaper solution (in the long run) though was to trade in my STB for a cable card and purchase the Centon InfiniTV 4 tuner card for my HTPC.  Now I save $12 per month in rental fees. 

Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012
Message 8 of 15
(14,013 Views)

The non-support of the HD guide is hardware.  And yes it goes back to the release of 1.9.

Contributor Curious1234
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-31-2014
Message 9 of 15
(13,949 Views)

The old DVR's may not support HD graphics, but they certainly supported 16:9 graphics until earlier this week.  This has been driving me nuts, too.  I have the same issue, not only is the guide now 4:3, but it is showing an hour less of the guide (so it's not like it had been stretched,  this is a different guide than we've had).  This is also an issue for the on demand menus, as the content descriptions are now being cut off.   I've confirmed that all box settings are 16:9/1080i.

Contributor djkhalid
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-05-2014
Message 10 of 15
(13,863 Views)

Had the same problem myself; here's the solution.

 

Settings > Audio & Video > Video Settings > Graphics Settings > Change from SD to HD

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.