×

Switch Account

TV tuner

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-10-2008

TV tuner

Message 1 of 8
(9,479 Views)
We recently switch to FIOS TV from Comcast digital TV. We used to be able to receive some channels from pc using UltraTV 1500 MCE before, Now with Verizon FIOS TV, we could not receive any channels. Is it because of the tv tuner or FIOS tv? If it is tv tuner, what other tuner can be used? Thanks.
7 REPLIES 7
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,796
Registered: ‎08-06-2008

Re: TV tuner

Message 2 of 8
(9,455 Views)
Do you have a set top box hooked up to you TV tuner card on the PC? If no you need one to receive the channels with Fios.
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,325
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: TV tuner

Message 3 of 8
(9,331 Views)

@Telcoguru wrote:
Do you have a set top box hooked up to you TV tuner card on the PC? If no you need one to receive the channels with Fios.

Not entirely true.  If the tuner you are using is QAM capable you should receive the digitized SD version of your local stations, your local digital (OTA HD) stations, the music channels, and the PEG stations.  If it doesn't have a QAM capable tuner then the statement from Telcoguru is correct.

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,796
Registered: ‎08-06-2008

Re: TV tuner

Message 4 of 8
(9,297 Views)
You don't get al the channels with QAM that's why I didn't mention it.
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,325
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: TV tuner

Message 5 of 8
(9,283 Views)

@Telcoguru wrote:
You don't get al the channels with QAM that's why I didn't mention it.

Just trying to give a little more accurate information.  The implication in your original post was that if you didn't rent a box from Verizon then you can't get anything (or at least that was my interpretation) and that is false as I stated earlier.

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-10-2008

Re: TV tuner

Message 6 of 8
(9,247 Views)
Now the question is what difference is between Verizon FIOS tv and Comcast digital tv? Using the same tuner, why I could receive some Comcast channels but not any FIOS channel? Both cable services indicate that the local channels are not encripted.
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,796
Registered: ‎08-06-2008

Re: TV tuner

Message 7 of 8
(9,218 Views)
Fios requires that you have a cable box to receive channels unless you have a QAM tuner like Keyboards said. The QAM tuner does not receive all of the channels.
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,325
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: TV tuner

Message 8 of 8
(9,168 Views)

@jkm wrote:
Now the question is what difference is between Verizon FIOS tv and Comcast digital tv? Using the same tuner, why I could receive some Comcast channels but not any FIOS channel? Both cable services indicate that the local channels are not encripted.

The difference is that even though you had Comcast Digital, they actually have a hybrid system with analog (old NTSC) channels for some of the basic cable channels as well as your local SD broadcasts in addition to the digital channels.  Verizon is (or is in the process) of migrating to an all digital system so your old "Cable Capable" tuner (which is analog) has nothing to tune - you must have a QAM capable tuner to tune any of Verizon's channels, and then only the limited subset I mentioned in my earlier post (no national stations other than WGN, only locals). 

 

Hope that clears up the confusion.

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.