×

Switch Account

The MOTO QIC-6416 DVR STB has PORTS. Why can't we USE them???

The MOTO QIC-6416 DVR STB has PORTS. Why can't we USE them???

Reply
Contributor Bobpom1
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-17-2008
Message 31 of 53
(13,901 Views)

Seriously, I find it hard to believe that in 2008/2009, a hardware manufacturer puts USB and 1394 ports on a box with NO CAPABILITY to use them?  Go to that design trouble and then not use it? Can anyone name another piece of hardware with USB ports that aren't used in this day and age?

 

Gotta be some kind of vast conspiracy.  They don't want DRM or Copyrighted (Copywritten?) materials taken off the boxes. Fine. Just say that. But to come back with "Oh we're working on some future development" just smacks of deception.  Or just plain {word filter avoidance} .  It's insulting.

 

But give us the ability to add storage or allow input.  Be great to play my home AVI videos on it via a USB Flash Drive.

 

I guess it was too much to expect from a phone company that has dreams of becoming a cable company.

 

{please keep it relevant} 

 

*(sigh)*

Bob

 

 

Message Edited by KaLin on 02-16-2009 04:30 PM
Highlighted
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 585
Registered: ‎10-22-2008
Message 32 of 53
(13,861 Views)

@Doc wrote:
The 80GB capacity that the hard drive has, IS NOT ENOUGH for any type of long term video storage (especially in HD format).

The FiOS DVR has 160GB.  The last two digits of every Motorola DVR indicate the amount of storage; xx12 = 120GB, xx16 = 160GB, and xx32 = 320GB.

 

Verizon deploys the QIP6416 and QIP7216 DVRs, both of which feature 160GB drives.  If you are among the <1% of customers that received a QIP6412 (120GB) by accident, then you should request a swap for the QIP6416 (160GB) model.

 


@Doc wrote:
As long as they are raising THE RATES for H/W rentals in 2009, I want Verizon to turn these ports ON, as this is very frustrating!!! Stop raising prices on equipment that we can't even use in its full capacity. Let us use it as it was DESIGNED to be used, for cryin' out loud!

Unfortunately, Verizon doesn't write the firmware to enable / disable hardware features on the Motorola DVR.  That's Motorola's job.  Right now, Verizon is using every hardware "feature" that Motorola has enabled.  As soon as Motorola enables eSATA, then Verizon can offer that feature.

 

If you aren't satisfied with the Motorola DVR, then you can always buy your own high-definition TiVo or Moxi DVR for FiOS service.  You would need a $3.99/mo CableCard from Verizon for these DVRs.  By buying your own, you gain superior guide data and storage expansion, but you lose access to FiOS VOD (unless you keep a Motorola STB for that).

 

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
Highlighted
Copper Contributor newtocable
Copper Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎02-17-2009
Message 33 of 53
(13,806 Views)

If what everyone says is true - that its Motorola, then Verizon should can Motorola and go with Scientific Atalnta boxes. They do have the ports enabled and Iomega makes some great drives that provide expansion and enable internet based media management for your TV, cable box, and computer. 

 

So, if Scientific Atlanta can do it it can't be a copyright issue. Its either lack of desire, Verison working out how to CHARGE for use of the ports, or some other reason in either one or both companies.  Both companies need to get with it because like everyone else, I'm sick and tired of conflicts in my home over lack of recording space for HD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Highlighted
Copper Contributor newtocable
Copper Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎02-17-2009
Message 34 of 53
(13,813 Views)

Well

 

Instead of specualting, I decied to look in theQIP 6416 Manual on th eMotorola website. Below is the excerpt from the manual relating to the ports -

 

 

Data Features

In addition to high quality audio and video, the set-top has the capability

to support the following data interfaces: USB 2.0, Ethernet, SATA, and

IEEE 1394.

Your set-top may be equipped with the interface connections illustrated,

but their functionality depends on the services offered by your service

provider.

 

THIS CLEARLY STATES ITS VERIZON WHO REFUSES TO ACTIVATE THEM.  Get with it Verizon. 160GB does not cut it in an HD world.

Highlighted
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 585
Registered: ‎10-22-2008
Message 35 of 53
(13,796 Views)

@newtocable wrote:

If what everyone says is true - that its Motorola, then Verizon should can Motorola and go with Scientific Atalnta boxes. They do have the ports enabled and Iomega makes some great drives that provide expansion and enable internet based media management for your TV, cable box, and computer. 

 

So, if Scientific Atlanta can do it it can't be a copyright issue. Its either lack of desire, Verison working out how to CHARGE for use of the ports, or some other reason in either one or both companies.  Both companies need to get with it because like everyone else, I'm sick and tired of conflicts in my home over lack of recording space for HD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


If Scientific Atlanta boxes are so great, why does Motorola control nearly 70% of the U.S. STB/DVR market?  None of which supports eSATA.

 

The reality is that each platform has trade offs.  Clearly, one of the advantages of the SA platform is support for eSATA expansion.  But that platform also has its share of disadvantages.  These may not be apparent to end users, but they are apparent to the folks writing the software.

 

If you are curious why Verizon didn't consider SA equipment earlier, the answer is simple.  Scientific Atlanta didn't offer hardware with MoCA (networking over coax cable), which is what Verizon uses to deliver guide data and VOD.  Scientific Atlanta recently introduced its first hardware with MoCA that can support guide data and VOD on FiOS, but there's one small problem -- the SA hardware platform is completely different and it will not run Verizon's IMG software.  Verizon would have to completely rewrite the IMG software to run on SA boxes.

 


@newtocable wrote:

Well

 

Instead of specualting, I decied to look in theQIP 6416 Manual on th eMotorola website. Below is the excerpt from the manual relating to the ports -

 

THIS CLEARLY STATES ITS VERIZON WHO REFUSES TO ACTIVATE THEM.  Get with it Verizon. 160GB does not cut it in an HD world.


I was not speculating.  I was stating facts.

 

You are misinterpreting the manual.  The hardware suppliers (Motorola and Verizon) write the firmware that supports the hardware and then cable providers have the option of disabling certain features.  For example, Scientific Atlanta provides firmware with eSATA support, which a provider can choose to disable if they want.  Motorola does not yet provide firmware with functional eSATA support, so there is nothing for Comcast, Verizon, and other providers [that use Motorola equipment] to enable or disable.

 

Functioning eSATA support that works reliably has proven to be more difficult than Motorola anticipated.  Customers will not tolerate the loss of all recordings when their box crashes or reboots.

 

Scientific Atlanta was able to create a reliable eSATA implementation, but they have a completely different hardware platform.  Just because they were able to do it on their platform does not mean that Motorola can do the same on its platform.

 

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
Highlighted
Copper Contributor hofs1
Copper Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎08-06-2008
Message 36 of 53
(13,774 Views)

Can anyone name another piece of hardware with USB ports that aren't used in this day and age?

 

Found 2 

 on my tv i got a usb port that is not in use.

my office copier got 1 too but its not used.

 

oh crud the tv usb is for firmware upgrades 

double crud so is the copiers used for firmware too.

 

Just my "high tech" fios dvr has un usable ports so back to square 1

 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor hofs1
Copper Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎08-06-2008
Message 37 of 53
(13,771 Views)

Im sorry but i need to say it

 

In this day and age when i can watch tv on my cell,control my dvr from my pc or cell then no one but no one can't tell me a company the size of MOTOROLA can't enable a port on a hardware device that they engineered , designed and built ... What possible reason could they have figured to use the esata port for other than what we all know its used for ( esata dvdrw maybe yeah right )All the talk about off loading content is null and void since guess what. When u plug the esata hdd used on a sa8300 dvr back into a PC or a Mac it can't see a bleeping file only;y option is format.

 

When a direct competitor can offer such capability and you can't then its truly pathetic on the part of the manufacturer of said device.

 

I can't say for sure but imop its all on MOTOROLA'S shoulders cause back when it was discovered that sa8300 dvr could do esata we all waited till our boxes got a new firmware release which coincided with a sa general release. Then 1 by1 all cable co using sa dvr's sent out the firmware to enable it.

 

 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor newtocable
Copper Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎02-17-2009
Message 38 of 53
(13,743 Views)

KenAE

 

I was not making any comparison as to whether or not Scientific Atlanta is better than Motorola.  I was stating that since Scientific Atlanta and others companies can add expanders, by any means, is a clear statement the Motorola or Verizon are resisting providing the capability due to copyright infringement or any other realted reason.

 

I also agree that Motorola/Verizon could enable the port if they wanted to. Firmware or not, the companies using the devices have a big hand in specifying the technical features.  

 

In regards to Motorola owning the market, that's because 1) yes they offer IP capability which the SA boxes don't, and more because they are offering the boxes at a lower cost. As to Comcast using Motorola boxes, in my area they are now offering Tivo boxes with the subscription inlcuded. So how long before Motorla loses out by not providing what people want? 

 

 These posts are pushing me toward getting rid of the Moto boxes and going with Tivo. I'd get a second benefit from that route - Considerably better TV guide. Verison's needs lots of help

Highlighted
Copper Contributor ptr727
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-09-2009
Message 39 of 53
(13,724 Views)

I don't care much to argue about who's to blame, the end result is the same, I need more storage!

 

Give me a bigger drive, they are cheap, or much simpler let me connect my own external storage, USB, 1394, eSATA, I don't care.

I know I have little choice today, except TiVo, but I'll be quick to take my money to a provider that, one day soon, will provide more storage in my area.

 

P.

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎12-04-2008
Message 40 of 53
(13,662 Views)

I have had FIOS TV for about 3 years now and the day it was installed I was told that within 6 months the ports would be activated. I was also told at that time there would be another HD-DVR released within the year with at minimum a 500GB HDD. I was also told and read in the papers I was given that I could record 2 shows and watch a 3rd show (not a recorded show) but that did not work. If there are 3 shows on at the same time I have to watch it in the bedroom or on my computer.

Well I did not worry about it until the last few months when I finally upgraded all of the TV's in the house to HD LCD's, now I run out of storage within days. There are shows on almost every night of the week that we schedule recordings, I have had to setup some of the shows to record on the SD channels just to conserve space, what is the point of having an all HD system if I have to watch some of the shows in SD?

It sure would be nice if Verizon could/would follow thru with promises made that led me to making my decision to buy the service.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.