Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

Thinking of switching to FIOS - Have some general questions:

Reply
Spacerobot
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-13-2010

Thinking of switching to FIOS - Have some general questions:

Message 1 of 11
(6,559 Views)

I am interested in getting FIOS internet and the TV essentials bundle.

 

In regards to the free 3 month dvr deal - After the 3 months are over do I have to keep the 19.99 DVR or can I drop down to the HDDVR 15.99?

 

With the TV essentials it lists like 250 channels and up to 14 HD channels. What does "up to" mean? Do I get to pick channels or something?

 

I have two TV's in my house. If I want the downstairs tv to be able to watch cable do I need to get an additional box?

 

Can I connect the FIOS internet to a wireless router so my laptop can connect to it?

 

Thanks. I'm just trying to figure out if it is going to be worth it to switch.

 

 

10 REPLIES 10
jumpin68ny
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,778
Registered: ‎05-14-2009

Re: Thinking of switching to FIOS - Have some general questions:

Message 2 of 11
(6,523 Views)

 

I can assist with the following answers.  Not sure of the answers to the other questions:

 

 

 

I have two TV's in my house. If I want the downstairs tv to be able to watch cable do I need to get an additional box?

If you want to receive all channels you will need a box.  If you want minimal channels you need a device for $3.99 a month that will allow you to use the TV tuner.  Keep in mind you get minimal channels this way.

 

 

Can I connect the FIOS internet to a wireless router so my laptop can connect to it?

The service comes with a wireless router.  You can keep your existing router or use the router provided to you by Verizon.  The Verizon Router is necessary since it will connect the set top boxes together and provide them Internet connectivity via COAX.  The STB's require Internet connectivity for the channel guide and to use video on demand. 

 

 

ekem015
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 371
Registered: ‎12-15-2009

Re: Thinking of switching to FIOS - Have some general questions:

Message 3 of 11
(6,521 Views)

The DVR is the same model, I believe. The multi-room capability will just be turned off.

 

"Up to" just means it depends on what local HD channels are in your area. For example, I'm in Boston, and from FiOS we have PBS from MA (two actually - GBH and GBX, which produce PBS content like This Old House), RI (WSBE), and NH (WENH) as part of the local channels. The MA and RI ones are offered in HD, so those are part of the "up to" 14. But in your area there may only be one PBS channel available. It also depends on if your area has a CW affiliate in HD, or perhaps picks up local channels from nearby cities (here we get the ABC from NH). But the only HD channels you get with the essentials are just the HD locals, if available: ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX, PBS, CW, Independent. I think most people go with the "Extreme HD" package, which will give you HD channels for most cable channels out there (ESPN, NFL Network, USA, TNT, TBS, etc. etc. - ~100 total) There's no in-between.

 

Yes, you will need a box for every TV where you want to get more channels than the locals (again, ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX, PBS, CW, local access) A regular SD box is $5.99/month, an regular non-DVR HD one is $9.99/month. You can also get a smaller "digital adapter" for $3.99/month, but that will not give you a program guide (it will just say what channel #) or video on demand.

 

FiOS provides you with their own wireless router (connected by coax, not ethernet), which is needed for the program guides and VoD on your set-top boxes. That is usually enough; if you have another wireless router you want to use you can just connect it to the FiOS one.

ekem015
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 371
Registered: ‎12-15-2009

Re: Thinking of switching to FIOS - Have some general questions:

Message 4 of 11
(6,519 Views)

jumpin68ny - the $3.99 adapter picks up all channels except HD channels and VoD.

jumpin68ny
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,778
Registered: ‎05-14-2009

Re: Thinking of switching to FIOS - Have some general questions:

Message 5 of 11
(6,509 Views)

Wow that's really good to know.  Our TV in the kitchen is mounted on the wall and is on its way out.  Its a 13 inch tube tv.  If I put a flat panel screen we would not have any place to put a box.  The adapter is a good option.

 

Thanks

 

mleduc3565
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎10-27-2009

Re: Thinking of switching to FIOS - Have some general questions:

Message 6 of 11
(6,508 Views)

 


@Spacerobot wrote:

I am interested in getting FIOS internet and the TV essentials bundle.

 

In regards to the free 3 month dvr deal - After the 3 months are over do I have to keep the 19.99 DVR or can I drop down to the HDDVR 15.99?

 

It's the same box. When the 3 months is over you can turn of the Home Media Feature and pay only the 15.99. (when you call many reps on the phone will claim you need to swap boxes but that usually gets sorted out later)

 

 

With the TV essentials it lists like 250 channels and up to 14 HD channels. What does "up to" mean? Do I get to pick channels or something?

You don't get to pick anything. If you pay for the higher Extreme HD package you get more of the HD versions of channels. If you don't you only get a small number typically the main networks

 

I have two TV's in my house. If I want the downstairs tv to be able to watch cable do I need to get an additional box?

Some TVs have a built-in QAM Tuner. If your TV has one it can play some channels. This TV would not get any on-screen guide or Video on Demand  (the ones below channel 50 ) without a box.

Some TVs can use a Cablecard. If you order a cablecard (monthly fee) you don't need a box. This TV would not get any on-screen guide or Video on Demand

Otherwise you need a box. There is a low cost version that is smaller and gives all channels but no guide or Video on demand. They are usually 3.99

 

Can I connect the FIOS internet to a wireless router so my laptop can connect to it?

 

Your install with come with a Verizon provided wireless router. Just make sure the router is placed in a location that will allow your laptop to connect.

You also have options to use your own router. You can review the options in the NETWORKING section of this FAQ guide http://www.dslreports.com/faq/verizonfios

 

 

Thanks. I'm just trying to figure out if it is going to be worth it to switch.

 

 


 

 

spacedebris
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,692
Registered: ‎05-17-2009

Re: Thinking of switching to FIOS - Have some general questions:

Message 7 of 11
(6,503 Views)

@jumpin68ny wrote:

Wow that's really good to know.  Our TV in the kitchen is mounted on the wall and is on its way out.  Its a 13 inch tube tv.  If I put a flat panel screen we would not have any place to put a box.  The adapter is a good option.

 

Thanks

 


Just fyi. the Digital adaptor is still a cable box. Albeit a small one. The dimensions are...

 

W 5.5" x L 6.7" x H 1.8"

 

 

your other option is that when you replace the tv. Get one with a QAM digital tuner, then no box is needed for the local channels. You will not get any of the "cable" channels but it may work depending on what you need.




====================================================================================

Error exists between keyboard and chair.
Spacerobot
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-13-2010

Re: Thinking of switching to FIOS - Have some general questions:

Message 8 of 11
(6,488 Views)

Thanks for the info everyone. I appreciate the responses.

ekem015
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 371
Registered: ‎12-15-2009

Re: Thinking of switching to FIOS - Have some general questions:

Message 9 of 11
(6,392 Views)

I'm not sure where you are located, and who this effects, but this week or next week Verizon is introducing new bundles. Instead of Essentials it will be "Prime HD," which gives you more HD channels than Essentials:

 

http://www.dslreports.com/r0/download/1502331~4bd67fc4b4addc7185428f4d712db2f1/2010_FiOS_Bundles_Wes...

Anonymous
Not applicable
Posts: 0

Re: Thinking of switching to FIOS - Have some general questions:

Message 10 of 11
(6,243 Views)

>> In regards to the free 3 month dvr deal - After the 3 months are over do I have to keep the 19.99 DVR or can I drop down to the HDDVR 15.99?

 

I do not think any of the previous posts mentioned this.  I would advise looking at the fine print.  When you sign up online you are committing to a 1 year term.  You can always add services,  but there may be an issue if you down-size.  Can anyone confirm this?

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.