Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get gifts fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same-day delivery.

This is RIDICULOUS!!!! "currently unavailable"

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-25-2009

This is RIDICULOUS!!!! "currently unavailable"

Message 1 of 9
(7,231 Views)

Yes, I know about the "currently unavailable" issue that would happen randomly BUT now it happens on just about every other channel I turn to!!!! I have to keep flipping back and forth to the channel I want to watch and hope it comes up!!! And NO I am not going to keep unplugging the box!!! I'm one call away from cancelling my contract and going to Direct TV!!! I'm so *#@*#&! Frustrated with you VERIZON FIOS!!!  Why don't you just come clean and tell your customers that there is a problem!!! It should NOT take 4 months for me to get the 1.6.2 upgrade!!! In fact I still have 1.6.0!!!!!

 

I have a new STB, new ONT, new cables, even exchanged my new HDTV for a different one!!!

 

 

8 REPLIES 8
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 180
Registered: ‎08-08-2008

Re: This is RIDICULOUS!!!! "currently unavailable"

Message 2 of 9
(7,174 Views)
There is a problem. It should NOT take 4 months for anyone to get the 1.6.2 upgrade, but it has, we all have had to deal with it. 1.6.2 shouold take care of your issues.
Joe was here
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎03-13-2009

Re: This is RIDICULOUS!!!! "currently unavailable"

Message 3 of 9
(7,139 Views)

They've "come clean" for quite some time now.  Here is the list of update schedules posted by Techman.  The only other reason, besides that software bug, is signal issue...which from your post I am guessing shouldn't be a problem.  A fix is coming.

 

http://forums.verizon.com/vrzn/board/message?board.id=FiOS_TV&thread.id=8917

 

.,.
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-28-2009

Re: This is RIDICULOUS!!!! "currently unavailable"

Message 4 of 9
(6,939 Views)
i chatted with a tech today and he told me 1.6.2 had a lot of audio issues and did not go as planned.  so they didn't do it every where.  he told me update 1.7 sould be comming out april 17.  i'm in southern cali.....i'm getting so sick of this.  we'll see if cancel before the 17
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 188
Registered: ‎08-04-2008

Re: This is RIDICULOUS!!!! "currently unavailable"

Message 5 of 9
(6,882 Views)

Radrad-

 

Your tech was a bit incorrect. 1.6.1 had the audio issues, and was stopped after 1 area rollout. 1.6.2 remains on schedule - only 3 more "regions" to go.

 

You'll have it on 4/14 - but it will be 1.6.2

 

Version 1.7 will be later on in 2009.

Highlighted
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 381
Registered: ‎09-01-2008

Re: This is RIDICULOUS!!!! "currently unavailable"

Message 6 of 9
(6,871 Views)

@psumatt wrote:

Version 1.7 will be later on in 2009.


heh. Maybe 1.7 will replace FYI. And by later on in 2009 you actually mean 2010. 😉

 

 

Message Edited by Carl on 03-29-2009 07:30 AM
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-29-2009

Re: This is RIDICULOUS!!!! "currently unavailable"

Message 7 of 9
(6,803 Views)

I have experienced this issue as well.  I have to unplug the DVR every week (now every couple of days) and then call Fios support to have them send a signal to my DVR so it will pick up my channels again.  I just switched my service to Verizon 02/28/09.  Had I known that I would have to deal with this headache every week, I never would have switched.  Does anyone know what kind of compensation Verizon is offering to their customers for dealing with these constant interruptions in service? 

 

-Disgruntled in TX

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-28-2009

Re: This is RIDICULOUS!!!! "currently unavailable"

Message 8 of 9
(6,797 Views)
if you get tired of having to try to squeze behind your tv to unplug things to restart your box here is an easier way.   go to menu>settings>system information and type 4883 on your remote  this will reload the guide data.  then type 2601 to reboot your STB.  this works for the QIP-7216.  you might have to reload your things that are set to record....although i have never had to.
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-18-2009

Re: This is RIDICULOUS!!!! "currently unavailable"

Message 9 of 9
(6,523 Views)

Ah so now the date is 4/14???? This is the 4th date that I've been given. 3/17. 3/31, 4/14 and 4,31. This reminds me of my marketing department! Anytime we ask when a new product launch will be rolled out they always say "6 months" and of course when 6 months rolls around we get a different answer.

 

Now in addition to my already mentioned problems my audio goes out but its just the voices, the background music still plays. again .. RIDICULOUS!!!!

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.