×

Switch Account

TiVO vs Verizon DVR

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-21-2013

TiVO vs Verizon DVR

Message 1 of 4
(1,952 Views)

I've been on FiOS for a long time now and been using a TiVO S3 for almost as long as the old Motorola they gave out back then was garbage in comparison to my old DirecTV TiVO. I've been happy with this setup until this past fall when they enabled encryption on the HBO channels. Since then I've gone through 5 cable cards and today it's started just constantly rebooting if either card is plugged in. I'm currently trying a last ditch effort of cloning it's HDD to a "new" drive in the hope that this is a disk issue, but I think the end is here for it.

 

It's always galled me that I've been paying more for 2 cable cards and then the TiVO service on top of that, but I haven't met another DVR that I like (bad interface, doesn't work properly, etc..). I know with the new TiVOs that I only need one card which helps, but still...

 

So it's been awhile since I've played with another DVR and I have no idea what Verizon is shipping at this time. My questions (primarily to anyone that has used TiVOs in the past are:

 

1) What is Verizon currently giving out?

 

2) How well does it work?

 

3) How does it compare with the TiVO?

 

One of the main things I love about TiVOs and hated about the last Motorola I had was that when watching a buffered/recorded soccer game that I wasn't overally commited to I can put it on the first level of fast forward and it is still a smooth playback that is watchable. On other DVRs even at that level it jumps frames in a non-fluid way so it becomes unwatchable.

 

Your input and opinions are appreciated.

 

Thanks,

-dave

 

Edit: In case it matters I should add that I've replaced the old ActionTec router they gave me way back when with my own router so there is no IP over the coax. I'm using a wireless dongle for the TiVO.

3 REPLIES 3
Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 371
Registered: ‎10-23-2008

Re: TiVO vs Verizon DVR

Message 2 of 4
(1,911 Views)

Can’t tell you anything about Tivo vs. Motorola, but Verizon 2x FF = 8.6x. It is jerky. Would love it if they would slow it down or smooth it out. Would also love if they would allow sound during 2x FF.


Find this post helpful, informative or just something you agree with? Click the red ‘thumbs-up’ button.
Did this post solve your problem? Click the green ‘Accept as Solution’ button.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,819
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: TiVO vs Verizon DVR

Message 3 of 4
(1,901 Views)

I had a Tivo for a few years and being refurbished unit the drive crashed 4 months after I made the purchase. Can't mirror a crashed drive, and they wanted $50 to fix a $99 TiVO that was 4 months old. I used this nice program called Instant Cake to blow an older image onto a new drive, and the TiVO updated it once connected.

 

I have used both the Motorola and Cisco DVRs and liked the Cisco better but they are not available in all areas. The new Verizon Media Server Motorola VMS-1100 that will be out some time this year, is really cool with the new IPC-1100 IP clients.

 

I don't know how long you can wait, I would not invest in another TiVo myself. You can get a Verizon DVR, try it out for a number of months and perhaps upgrade to the VMS that will have six tuners.

 

Right now I am running a Media Center Server with two Cetoncorp InfiniTV PCIe tuners for a total of eight tuners, and multiple extenders. Up front investment, but then only monthly cable card costs. I really liked the VMS that I saw at CES 2013 at the beginning of the year.

 

My View

http://forums.verizon.com/t5/FiOS-TV-Programming/CES-2013-and-items-that-will-change-the-way-you-enj...

 

Justin's and my view from Bill Kula. Just waiting for the new stuff.

http://forums.verizon.com/t5/Verizon-at-Home/Seeing-the-Pulse-of-Our-Industry-From-the-Lens-of-Custo...

 

Best Regards

Mark

 

PS.

If it is an OLD Revision router, connectect it up for them to see and test, or if it has been more than two years, they are trying to get those really old routers replaced anyway at no charge. You might not even need to connect the router, but they may wish to check the revision before the fiber solutions center just sends you a new router for free. Get a new router and DVR at the same time. If you still wish to use your router, you can always run one of many alternate configurations along with the Actiontec. http://www.dslreports.com/faq/16077

 

 

 

 

 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-21-2013

Re: TiVO vs Verizon DVR

Message 4 of 4
(1,867 Views)

@prisaz wrote:

I don't know how long you can wait, I would not invest in another TiVo myself. You can get a Verizon DVR, try it out for a number of months and perhaps upgrade to the VMS that will have six tuners.


Sorry you had issues with your TiVO. I had my DirecTV version for quite a few years and now this one as well (10+ years between them) with no issues at all until Verizon switched on encryption and now a lot of S3 owners report all kinds of issues with their cards.

As an update I tried putting the cards directly in my TV and it wouldn't even acknowledge that they were plugged in, so Verizon is shipping me another set. I knew they'd have to reset the card to make it work directly in the TV to actually get content, but it should have recognized that the card was there (neither worked).


@prisaz wrote:

Right now I am running a Media Center Server with two Cetoncorp InfiniTV PCIe tuners for a total of eight tuners, and multiple extenders. Up front investment, but then only monthly cable card costs. I really liked the VMS that I saw at CES 2013 at the beginning of the year.


That's pretty cool, but it's not Mac friendly yet and that's all I have. Bummer as that would do exactly what I want with my Mini attached directly to my TV I'll have to keep my eye on that.


@prisaz wrote:

If it is an OLD Revision router, connectect it up for them to see and test, or if it has been more than two years, they are trying to get those really old routers replaced anyway at no charge.


I actually tried to give it back to them years ago and they didn't even want it because it was so out of date and old. I tried installing DD-WRT on it for grins after that, but that bricked it so I tossed it at the next local electronics recycling day. Now I'm running one of Juniper's "Branch" routers and couldn't be happier (well not with the routing, the Juniper AP was a waste of money).

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.