Tivo box.

Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎09-23-2013

Tivo box.

Message 1 of 6
(5,490 Views)

Can I use a Tivo box with my verizon Fios TV service?

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-09-2017

Re: Tivo box.

Message 2 of 6
(5,473 Views)

I have the same question, it seems when I was asked to upgrade my DVR, they told me it was exactly like the previous model except better because it had larger capacity on the HD, however they "forgot" to mention that unlike the previous model you cannot transfer anything to make a copy

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,906
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Tivo box.

Message 3 of 6
(5,464 Views)

Absolutely.

You will have to renat a cable card.

And you wont have access to any Verizon on demand.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-09-2017

Re: Tivo box.

Message 4 of 6
(5,460 Views)

very frustrusting to say the least

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,906
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Tivo box.

Message 5 of 6
(5,451 Views)

@MCL1 wrote:

very frustrusting to say the least


I assume you mean restriction on copying?

I beleive that is at the request of the content providers.

And I beleive that is true of other providers as well.

Not sure how TiVO gets away with it other than they have no contracts with the content providers.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,000
Registered: ‎05-27-2010

Re: Tivo box.

Message 6 of 6
(5,417 Views)

Yes.

 

This is exactly what I do.   I have a Tivo Roamio (you can also use the newer Tivo Bolt).  You need the version which is CableCard / Digital TV Ready, not the Over-the-air version they also sell.

 

You get a CabelCard (M-card) from Verizon ($4.99/month) and it installs into the Tivo main unit.   The Tivo boxes all support MoCA so it will function as a plug-in replacement for a standard Verizon DVR (noting that you need to continue to use the Verizon router provisioned onto the Coax unless you understand some networking basics and are comfortable with setting up your own MoCA bridge).

 

The other TV's in your home can then each be connected to a Tivo Remote box which can either be connected via ethernet cable or coax to your local network.  Wireless is not possible (insufficient bandwidth) although PowerLine and other connectivity solutions have been reported to work.

 

And yes, you can copy shows from your TiVO to your PC.   I use "kmttg" and associated tools to pull shows off my TiVO, decrypt them, and re-encode them into a more compressed format.    This show technically be possible with the Verizon DVR's but they have no motivation to permit it.

 

You can't copy all shows.  Some channels do put copy protection on the show (HBO routinely does this) and in such instances, the TiVO box won't let you copy it.  In my experience however, few channels do this -- and I routinely use it to store series from network TV that I want to watch, but don't want to leave crowding my DVR storage until I can get around to it.

 

Incidently, you can also check into Plex.   If you install this on your PC and put the Tivo shows you download into the Plex library, you can run the Plex client on your Tivo box and stream them back to your TV when you want to watch them.

 

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.